August 1, 2006

  • I hate when I feel like negligent Monster Mother.  Finally took
    Dmitry in for glasses (his broke ages ago and he stubbornly resisted
    getting any more, declaring he wouldn't wear them), only to discover
    his vision has deteriorated alarmingly since he arrived from Russia.

    It wasn't bad back then....he needed glasses, but not terribly,
    if you see what I mean.  Him being unable to speak English, they
    used the E's facing in various directions and he'd show with his
    fingers which way they were pointing.  He was accurate down aways
    on the chart, and the examiner said his vision wasn't too bad at all.

    Um, that's changed.  According to the optometrist he's pretty much
    at the Big E.  I believe he mentioned 20/400.   

    They asked if he'd grown much since we brought him home, and upon being
    told he's recently shot up like a rocket, nodded and said that's
    it....when they go through a growth spurt like that at puberty that's
    when their vision really tanks.

    Won't Dmitry be surprised when he gets his new glasses on Thursday? 

Comments (8)

  • That's too bad, is he getting the thin kind?  -Alex

  • Not ultrathin, but small...he wanted as little lens as possible...and with the transition lens, so they go dark in the sun. Dark metal frames. He really doesn't want glasses, of course, so wasn't what you'd call enthusiastic about the whole thing.

    Picking out something you don't much want isn't a lot of fun, I don't suppose.

  • Before I had my eyes lasiked my vision was about 20/400 (or worse, it was depressing). Anywho, a warning on the ultrathin, it seems that with a very strong prescription the ultrathin sometimes doesn't work. I got snazzy new glasses put them on, and it was like trying to look through a drinking straw. It was then that the woman at LensCrafters told me that my prescription wasn't a good candidate for ultrathin lenses.

    Perhaps he'll warm up to the idea of glasses when he's able to see again

  • Oh, come now, Anne, you MUST stop contributing to the international maternal habit of "finding something unwarranted to feel guilty about in every situation." How am *I* supposed to break that stupid habit if people like you keep feeding the beast, HMMMMM????

    Dmitry grew. His eyes changed. You were not aware of the correlation between growth spurts and bad eyes (none of your other kids have bad eyes, right? My kids DO have bad eyes and I didn't know that until now!) He went for a while not being able to see as well as we all would like him to. You took him to the optometrist. He's getting new glasses. End of story!

  • Guess she told you, Anne.

    Go Jane!

    me<><

  • Alright, alright!  Kamerad! 

  • Today's the day.  Is there doom and gloom hanging in the air at your house?  Keep us informed.  In fact, post a picture!

  • They didn't come in.  Should be in tomorrow for sure, per the lab.

    Sigh.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment