May 16, 2009

  • Today would have been Don's 58th birthday.

    It's weird to think I'm going to get older while he doesn't.

    I fear what with it being his birthday and rain pouring down, I basically just stayed in bed until this afternoon when Charles came by, skipping the line dance class.  Slept off and on, dreaming of being on a cruise ship but without identification and not remembering which cabin was mine.  When I'd awake I'd play a game on my DSi for a bit.  After Magellan came in I used the DSi to take pix of us. 

    Charles' pleasure in Magellan was a pleasure to me, and it was also amusing when he attempted to scold Zeus (who had stayed on my bed even after the kitten was brought up, as he likes to be on my shoulder while she (Zeus) bags the foot of the bed) for hissing at him...he pointed a finger in her face and she proceeded to hiss at it.  If I'd been able to capture a picture of Zeus hissing at the finger barely an inch away it'd have been suitable for a poster labled "Defiance!" 

    While I was getting dressed Jonathan Andrew came over, too, so that was doubly fun!  He was kind enough to replace the cyan ink cartridge in the printer (okay, fine, turns out one opens a door, pulls out the old one and sticks the new one in...easy peasy).

    Both sons professed themselves pleased with the kitchen, and especially enthused about the prospect of the screened-in porches.

    After they left I proceeded to make a loaf of banana bread, having two nicely aged bananas.  It's in the oven now and I'm eager to be able to eat it.  It's tricky knowing just when to pull it out, as I like it a bit underdone. 

    Ummm...I can smell it baking.  Yum! 

Comments (5)

  • All in all sweet Sister, it sounds as though you did ok today. Sure, you skipped the line dancing, but you actually did something productive and enjoyed your pets and kids. That's way more than you would have expected a few months ago when thinking about a day with this much sentiment attached. You'll always be aware of these days. And it's ok to feel sad on special days. Or any days. You're still in that "first year" that's so important to the process. You're doing great.

    Big hugs!

    me<><

    PS Hazel asked about you the other day - she says she prays for you often.

  • I wish I could come and visit you too. Not long, though. I'm in Shimoda, Japan and will be heading back today. I love you, and I am sharing with you a broken heart. But I am enjoying the thought of Daddy in glory with our Lord and Savior. Let us stay in the Word and trust in the hope that God has given us through Jesus' death and resurrection. We are His, and He will give us the comfort we need. I am looking forward to the day when I can comfort you in person and share in the wonderful Christian walk that God has given us. Please remember, today, that you have a son on the other side of the world who is praying for you and longing to see you.

  • My thoughts are prayers are with you.

  • Love you lots, dearie. :love:

  • Me three, and may I second also the remarks of Cindy. You did amazingly well, considering. You've got to be kidding, though, May 17th? The day of Emanuele's birth (I bought him books on Calvin and Pascal, which I hid so well that I couldn't find them anymore! Talk about feeling old!), and the day that my precious maternal grandmother went to be with the Lord - the Norwegian liberation day, and she was Norwegian by birth. I miss her, yes I do.

    A big hug to you, Anne. Love you.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment