March 5, 2009

  • You know, there's lazy and then there's REALLY lazy.

    A little bit ago I was at SuperTarget (insert gasp of astonishment at such an unusual occurrence, hehehe) and could not help but notice one of those oversized pickup trucks was hitting the curb while trying to leave his parking space, necessitating his backing up and having another shot at it, then drove straight at me on the wrong side of the parking lot aisle (or whatever it's called) for an unnerving moment.

    As soon as he passed, the shopping cart he hadn't bothered to put into the conveniently close corral began to head straight for the right front fender of my van, so I had to quickly shift into reverse so as to avoid it.

    Good thing there wasn't anyone behind me!

    Whipped out my cell phone to snap a photo showing where the cart was in relation to the cart corral:

    GroceryCart-1

    The pickup was parked directly across from the corral, but the driver couldn't be bothered to put his cart tidily - and safely - away? 

    That's lazy. 

    (For the record, no, I didn't leave it there....I used it myself.)

Comments (11)

  • Anne, for some reason that strikes me as a very good photo. I can't put my finger on it, but it is simply pregnant with Meaning. Yes, doofus, I'm serious.

  • And BTW, I really loathe those oversized pickup trucks. They should be parked at the feed store, or Home Depot where they belong. Not at Target.

  • COME on. Seriously? I have 5 kids and I still manage to put the darn things away (even when I'm on my own at the store, which is typical because it is just easier that way!!!!)

  • Might I point out that people who haul construction supplies and feed might just occasionally need to go to Target for something? What ought they to do, dear Eleanor, keep a separate car just for light duty trips?

  • You're right, Jane, but I don't think this guy fits your description, from the impression I got of him as he headed straight toward me before finally getting over where he ought to be. "Feed" and "construction supplies" didn't come to mind.

    It was a very new, pricey-looking truck, so I suspect the driver wasn't accustomed to it, which was why he misjudged the distance between the truck and the curb.

    OTOH, he might simply be a really rotten driver. :hmmmmm:

  • Really, Eleanor? So if they're on their way home from work where they use the big truck, they should drive past Target to get their small car, and then go back with it for the groceries or t-shirts of whatever? Just to avoid the appearance of driving a vehicle that's "too big" where they "don't need it?"

    I don't disagree with the idea of keeping a smaller car for "running around" when you don't need the big thing, but the idea that you shouldn't use the big one when it's the one you're already driving somewhere -- you have to go park it and then get the other one????? And you don't know which is the case here, so you have no idea whether he "should have been" driving the big one or not.

    Anne, I don't think you can tell how and why a person uses a truck by the way he drives it, or what he looks like. I'm trying to imagine how that would be.

    (See, I'm not complaining about the idea of not using a vehicle that's bigger than you need in inefficient ways. That's an excellent thought. My beef is with concluding that people are doing something inefficient when you have no information other than what they're driving, where they are, and what they look like. Maybe I'm sensitive about this because I drive a big ol' minivan around by myself a lot. But it's either buy, maintain and insure three cars (out of the question) or do that, because I need the minivan for the family, and the other car is hubby's commuter -- which I used to use a lot on weekends until it became less reliable.)

  • I drive a minivan, too, but can generally manage to avoid running over curbs, driving in the wrong lane so as to be driving straight toward an oncoming car, and in general - I watched his progress through and out of the parking lot (which is BIG, as it's part of a much larger retail complex) which reminded me of a June bug bumbling around and flying upside down.

    He didn't strike me as comfy in that truck, IOW.

    If someone isn't skilled in driving a big ol' vehicle, then what they ought to do is park out a bit, rather than in close where everyone else is.

    Safer for all concerned, especially if they're too lazy to put their shopping cart nicely in the corral so it doesn't run amok and threaten innocent minivans. :smug:

  • BTW, I totally lost control in that first paragraph, so don't waste time trying to decipher it and make it work properly. :o h-no:

  • Yes, Anne, you should enter that sentence in this year's "It Was a Dark and Stormy Night" contest.   :tongue:

  • Jane. I'm hyperbolising. But I can't deny that I find those trucks to be a colossal nuisance especially in situations where room for maneuvering in parking lots is limited. They are simply too large for parking garages at hospitals, for example.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment