September 29, 2008

  • I get quite a few of my recipes from Allrecipes.com.

    And am on their daily email list.  This morning's email included "Cube Steak Parmesan" which is very highly rated, and I do believe I'll be trying it soon.

    Checking the reviews there is someone who did something that simply bugs me to death, and that's make a significant change to the recipe then complain that it didn't turn out properly.  The name of the dish is what?  Cube Steak Parmesan, right?  So this person (who lists herself as "expert" level) subbed round steak, cooked the dish for the specified length of time, then commented "The reason I gave it four stars instead of five is it wasn't as tender as I hoped for."

    Well, duh. 

    I'd have thought an "expert" cook would realize it'd take a good bit longer to cook round steak to tenderness than it does cube steak.  So she used a different cut of meat then knocked off a star because it didn't cook like cube steak.  Sheesh!  e-wallbang

Comments (5)

  • That is pretty dopey.

    I like that site, too, although I don't get the emails. Perhaps I should...

    Does sound good, though.

    me<><

  • Not to pick on typos, but in the first line of your post you've misspelled the name of the dish. I kept looking at it and thinking "What the heck is a Cube Stead? Oh well, guess I'll read it and find out." I don't know why I didn't think of cube steak until I read farther down; maybe because I don't make it much. Since it's a bit confusing, I thought I'd point it out.

    Anyhow, yes, EXTREMELY dopey. It's one thing to leave out a disfavored ingredient or something, but to substitute a cut of meat and then complain about the texture of the meat? MAJOR duh! :o h-no:

  • Oopsie doopsie! I'll fix that typo ASAP. :blushing:

  • And then some use cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom, leave out carrots and peas and use green beans, use garlic powder when none is called for and then says it didn't taste just right. Sigh:what:

  • This drives me nuts! Esp. when it is one of my recipes. I have a recipe on Recipezaar and someone came along and gave it 3 or 4 stars b/c they'd tried it in the PAST (from a different recipe/source) and didn't like it. Please. Try MY recipe, then decide whether or not you like it.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment