June 11, 2008

  • Wow! Amazing to think this is even possible!

    Yesterday Dmitry and I were at his school, deciding which classes he'll take for summer school.  According to the teacher, he has fifteen credits now, so if he can manage to garner two more this summer, he'll be only one credit away from being a senior. 

    Considering the number of credits he earned during the past school year, it's definitely possible that he could complete the required number of credits for graduation by the end of the next school year.

    Of course, the wild cards are those tiresome, frustrating TAKS tests.  Unless he can pass those, he still wouldn't be able to graduate.

    But one never knows, does one?  It's astonishing to us to think there's even a possibility he could graduate next year, when he's eighteen! 

Comments (8)

  • That would be SO COOL! You know, it's not all that unusual for kids to graduate at 19 these days anyway, being held back for one reason or another. That's what my Josh is expecting to do (he's going into 9th grade and will be turning 16 before the end of the year.) So if a kid with Dmitry's neurological issues, on top of being adopted across the globe and having to learn a whole new language, can graduate at 18, that would be TERRIFIC!

    He must have put in some hard work to catch up this far, indeed.

  • My brother just graduated at 18, it's totally a great age to graduate at ; )   I think its awesome that  he is sooo close to having the credits he needs ! As for TAKS-bleh.

    I put some pictures of T up a day or so ago that I plan on making private tonight at some point, so go peek if you haven't seen them already. He is soo precious.

  • :dancingcow: That is awesome.  I'm proud of him.  God is in control.  If he doesn't end up graduating next year, God has his reasons and has more for him to learn before he enters beginning adulthood. 

    What is he taking this summer?

  • He's taking...prepare yourself...BCIS (Business Computer Information Systems), Microsoft Word (which is actually Open Office, like we use here at home), and Medical Terminology.

    Him actually earning two full credits is a little problematic, I'm thinking.

  • :so-cool:  Yea Dmitry!   I'm super-proud of all that he has accomplished - even if he doesn't pass the tests right away!

  • That's awesome, Anne. I really think he's going to be A-OK in the job market-- especially if he can go into business. WHAT a difference you've all made ot that young man's life! Just as an aside-- what's the hurry? Would slowing down give him a bit more breathing space, or is he pretty motivated to get on with it? If there's one thing I've learned, it's what's the hurry?

  • Go Dmitry!  He's come so far - who would have thought he'd be at this point at this time? 

  • Wow!!!  THat's a work load for the summer.  Medical Terminology?  That's a challege.  I may need him for some tutoring in the future.  I'm concidering becoming a Certified Lactation Consultant.  THat would mean taking afew more college classes, like anatomy, medical termanology, physiology, stuff like that.  Tough stuff.  Interesting, maybe, but not easy for me to retain.  We will see what God has for me. 

    By the way, I'm officially a La Leche League Leader in-training.  I get to go to a LLL conference offered here in TOkyo in August, and possible (if Alex is in town) to one in Hong Kong in February.  I'm so excited! 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment