June 1, 2008

  • What a joy!

    I just got back from the graduation party for Elveera, and what a delight to see kids - and others - whom I've not seen in two years or more:

    Elveera_and_friends

    Back row:  Viktor, Joe, Dmitry, Dan
    Front row:  Elena, Elveera, Olga

    But Joe was almost invisible, so I tried again, this time adding another Viktor - this time Elveera and Olga's brother - while losing Eleevera:

    Russians

    I was absolutely blown away at how tall "little" Viktor has grown since I last saw him in August of '06.  Look at those hands!  He's not quite 13, so it looks as if he's got a way to grow, doesn't he?

    This sort of coincidence is always a pleasure....I'd been sitting and wondering if the girls still stay in contact with Jennifer, who used to work for Gladney and was the Russian coordinator when we were adopting Dmitry, when guess who showed up?

    Jennifer_Elveera

    Here she is with the honorĂ©e. 

    This time I was sensible, asking Elveera which side of the coliseum I should sit on to be able to locate her tonight.  "Left side, facing the stage!"

    I'll be there. 

    P.S.  Okay, no I wasn't.    I tried, really I did, but hadn't realized the large parking lot to the west of the convention center had been taken over by construction of a new hotel, which eliminated a whole bunch of parking spaces.  The few parking lots were full, and people were parking at the train station to the south of East Lancaster and hiking.

    I'm not up to that, especially as it'd be dark or close to by the time I left, so I came on home after driving fruitlessly around searching for a spot on the street.  Darn.  I'd been eagerly anticipating Elveera's graduation for ages, and can't believe I wound up missing it after all.  That stinks.  At least I got to see her at her party this afternoon.  

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment