August 26, 2007

  • Some of those spam subject lines are amusing and mystifying.

    I've got one staring at me in my Yahoo! mail account which reads "Re: clean the frostbound scrunch", ostensibly sent by someone named Lana.

    Clean the frostbound scrunch?  Clean the frostbound scrunch.  Yo, Larry, go fetch that filthy, frostbound scrunch and clean it! 

    What the deuce is a scrunch, anyway?  Were it a scrunchy I'd know it's one of those stretchy hair-things that was quite popular a few years ago, but a scrunch?  No idea.  It's a verb, as in "Scrunch down so it doesn't see you!", but as a noun....?

    Hmmm....  e-headscratch

    And it's August.  How'd it get frostbound?

    I really rather hate to click on it, as it'll doubtless be revealed as some dorky junk stock email or something like that.

Comments (2)

  • Is it my imagination, or do those things somehow seem to be keyed to words that come up in your own online or e-mail conversation sometimes? Or is it just that there are so many words you use, and so many words that come up (I think they use some kind of random phrase generators), so there's an overlap? It seems kinda spooky sometimes.

  • I've never in my life written the words 'frostbound' or 'scrunch', and considering my lack of enthusiasm regarding the housewifely arts, 'clean' is a little problematic, too.

    This morning's offering is "was succeed laurels?" from musketeer.

    Correct capitalization is a closed book to many of these spammers, I've noticed.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment