August 26, 2007

  • Tonight we celebrated Dad's birthday.

    It's actually tomorrow, but Mom arranged for the dinner to be this evening.  I forgot my "real" camera, but had my cell phone with me, so that's what I took these photos with:

    Dad and wine

    Here he's inspecting one of the bottles of wine Louis and Mary gave him; below he's examining the personalized box with chocolate, presented by Jeanne:

    Dad looking at a gift

    BTW, both Jeanne and Mom brought digital cameras, but both of them wound up with dying batteries.  Until that happened, however, this was a common sight:

    Jeanne until her batteries bit the dust

    Dad reading one of his cards:

    Dad reading one of his cards

    Okay, the photos are all sort of the same, because of where I was seated.  Sorry about that! I actually took a lot of pictures, but quite a few were blurry, darn it.  Dumb cell phone camera.  Here's Jeanne and Elaine, to finish up:

    Jeanne and Elaine

    Happy birthday, Dad! 

Comments (9)

  • Perfectly good pics for a telephone!! I almost wish I had one that takes pictures but that would require putting on my glasses to see which button to push. I like to just push a button and when prompted say the name I want called! Now that's up to date.!

  • Isn't that funny? I've never gotten the hang of voice dialing, and I've tried a couple of times.

    I'm so prehistoric...I just punch the numbers in, one by one. Don't even use the "contacts" as a shortcut.

  • Me either. I recorded the voice for "Anna" and "Home" -- 90% of my calls are between those two. But darn if I can remember what buttons to push before saying those words to make it dial them. So usually I just dial, too.

  • What's funny is how sometimes our language doesn't update! When was the last time any of us actually DIALED a phone number? We mostly push buttons or - in the case of my technosavvy mother - use our voices to start a call.

    Yet we still default to "dial" as the description of that action. I wonder if it'll ever be replaced?

  • Hmmm. "I pushed the phone number," just doesn't have much of a ring to it. "I touched the phone..."

    "Dial," says it so much better.

    Nice photos. FOr a phone.

    me<><

  • ISTM "punch" packs a...well...you know. Punching numbers in says you mean business, by jingo.

  • Well - at least I looked good in the last shot!  We should frame the one of me (trying) to take a picture.  Thanks to Mom for a wonderful party!

  • I love that picture of you, and am sick it was blurry. Wonderful, wonderful picture!

  • Happy birthday to your dad!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment