October 10, 2006

  • From the "Things I Sort of Thought Everyone Knew But Apparently They Don't" file comes this bit of information that might prove to be useful to some of y'all:

    Y'know, as long as an elevator's doors are open, there's simply no point in pushing the button to call another one.

    This morning I was Doing My Civic Duty by presenting myself to the pool of the day's potential jurors and as we tended to move in a herd up and down the Justice Center, I noticed how frequently people would push the call button for the elevator, even though the crowded one hadn't yet closed its doors.  This was not once or twice....such would not rate a blog post....but the last time we were heading downstairs upon being released from duty, I counted no fewer than six people try to call another elevator while there was one still having people get on.

    They'd push the button, it'd light momentarily, then go out.  Repeat, sometimes with the same person, usually with a different one.

    It's always perplexing to find that other grown people don't possess a bit of practical knowledge I assumed was widely known.  It's not as if I'm the most technologically savvy person on the planet, but even I figured out decades ago that so long as one elevator on a floor is open, there isn't gonna be another one available.  Sad, but there it is.

    If you didn't know it before, you do now.  Wait till the doors close on the elevator you missed before pushing the button to summon another.

Comments (4)

  • And if you push the call button, the doors on the elevator you don't want will keep opening, right?

  • Now here's a question -- if the elevator you're not getting on is upgoing, and you push the down button, will it bring a downgoing elevator before the other one's gone?

  • It won't bring any elevator, I don't think.

    Hmmmm...need to investigate that some, but I'm fairly certain it doesn't matter which direction is desired. Not positive, though.

  • I'd like to add (which I think pentamom is also saying, but I'm not sure) that you should wait just a second or two after the crowded elevator door closes before pressing the call button again. Otherwise, the door will reopen, showing you that the elevator is indeed full, and is now full of irritated people who wish you'd read Anne's blog re: how elevators work.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment