August 28, 2006

  • One son seen off...one son to go.

    Well, they're at the airport, preparing to leave for Japan (with a 12 hour layover in Seattle, can you imagine?), and I hardly cried at all

    Of course, I also left rather quickly.  Had to fetch Dmitry at school, you see. 

    It swiftly became apparent this morning we couldn't all go in my van PLUS the baggage, so Don took half and I took half.  Charles met us at the airport, having had lunch with Kirstin:

    August06 710
    August06 714

    I pointed out to Alex while his attire was doubtless much more comfortable for over 24 hours of travel, if he'd worn his uniform they'd probably have scored lots of help.  Too late now!

    Then it was time for goodbyes....

    August06 715

    August06 716

    August06 718

    August06 719

    August06 721

    And one last snap as Don and I left the terminal....you can pick out Hannah in the pink:

    August06 722

    How they're going to manage with all those bags beats me!  It's a four hour flight to Seattle, then a TWELVE hour layover, followed by a ten and a half hour flight on a military plane to Japan, whereupon they'll be met and driven two hours to Yokosuka.  e-faint

    All with a seventeen month infant.  e-hairout

    Tell you what, there is not enough money in the world....! 

    Alex called a little while ago to say they'd made it through security and were grabbing a bite of lunch prior to boarding. 

    I'd ask everyone reading to pray for a safe trip for them.  Thanks! 

Comments (7)

  • Praying for safe, uneventful travel for them.  And praying for you, too!

  • I'm so sad. I can't imagine how sad you and Don are! Seeing Jessica cry last night broke my heart. You have such a close family...I know having these two gone for a while is going to be tough. Thank God for the internet so we'll be able to keep up with Alex! Thanks for the pictures.

  • Aww...sweet and yet sad.  Praying for safe travel for your family! ~K

  • Praying for your whole family.

  • Yes, you have to be young to tackle a trip like that.  I'd be dead by Seattle. 

    I do hope their time in Japan goes smoothly and that God keeps them safe.

  • so...is there an update Anne? If it had been ME, I'd be a mess saying goodbye to that grandbaby.  I guess you just have to console yourself with the hope that you can fly out and visit them!

    Hugs for you, Anne.

    Jennifer

  • Haven't heard from them yet, but it was going to be about midnight when they arrived at the base, so I daresay they got checked into the Navy Lodge then crashed.

    Most likely we'll hear this morning.  ;^)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment