August 23, 2006

  • [scowling]  Mercy Maud, what's it take to get some comments around here?

    Y'all are a tough crowd.  e-browlift

    Lemme see.....hmmmm......well, how's this?  On September 3, just a few days after Alex arrives in Yokosuka, he and the 7th Fleet Band will play with the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra.  Is that cool or what? 

    Speaking of Alex, he's set up a Xanga for himself, so he can blog about living and working in Japan.  It's down there in the Subscription links:  Alex_Z_Ivy, which was a jokey name for him back in high school.  So far it's plain, but I've sent him some URL's for tuba background, etc. Hopefully it'll perk up soon (that's by way of being a hint, Alexander  ).

    The unusual heat wave's back has finally broken, as today's high is forecast to be 96° with a 40% chance of rain.  Yesterday there were actually a few drops seen around here, causing Alex, Beth, Dmitry, Taylor and I to rush outside to experience the strange weather for ourselves.  ;^)

    So far Charles is holding to his avowed determination to wear his uniform wherever he goes.  We tend to think he's lost his mind, but whatever floats his boat (you should excuse the expression, Charles). 

    This evening the Ivys will gather for pizza, wings and brownie trifle at Kirstin's home.  It'll be lovely having all my chicks together! 

Comments (17)

  • Funny about your comments comment.  I LOVE looking at your site.  I always wanted to have a house full of kids & grandkids, but things didn't turn out quite that way.  And while I do ADORE my son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter, as well as my step-daughter & son-in-law, we all live too far apart for all the dropping over that seems to go on at your place, so I really enjoy reading about your crew's antics!  Keep it coming!

  • Sorry Anne..that occured to me yesterday.  I have really enjoyed your pictures and Charles in his uniform with head shaved is bringing back lots of memories.  Don't pressure him to ditch the uniform, after all, you want him to submit to his lawful authorities...and that is what he is doing.
    Hugs to you as you enjoy your family.

  • He is? Alex is on leave as well and he just wears civvies.

    We figured it's a combination of knowing he looks spiffy in his uniform, occasionally scoring free food at restaurants, and finding it easier to just wash it daily instead of building up a load of laundry.

  • And Bonnieruth, you're right about the dropping-in...it's a true blessing, to be sure.

    Thanks for making my blog a regular stop for you! ;^)

  • I thought of you this morning when our weatherman joked about "the Texas heatwave breaking" and wondered if there was much difference in 103 and 97.  There comes a point when the temperature is just hot!  But, is this really ununusal.  I mean.  Texas.  Summer.  Hot.  Isn't that sort of par for the course?

  • This is a comment.  Does it count?

  • Barely, Lois. Barely.

    Plummy, you'd be astonished at the difference between 96° and 106°. It's significant.

  • Dang, Lois beat me to it, I was just gonna say "comment" te-he, and well ...."hewoww thailor!" you got some right handsome young men, and a family to be proud of! I stop in once a day....just don't usually make a comment...*sniff* didn't know you Cared! she loves me....she really loves me *sniff*

  • Well. I remember a period of time after boot camp and through A-school that they had to wear their uniforms, the poor single guys never got a break from it.  They would come to our house just to put on a pair of shorts and hang out.
    But, then again, if Charles is ready to be shipped out, perhaps that time has passed and it is just vanity?!
    There two comments from me!

  • He graduated from A-school on the 18th, AAMOF. The impression I've gotten from both him and his brother is he is permitted to wear civvies, but is choosing not to.

    Strange from an egg, that's Charles.

  • I too read it every day and save photos to my "machine" and print out some to give to your dad to read, etc etc. So there! Mom

  • I read bloglines. Leaving a comment requires that I click on the link and come here personally to leave a comment. Frankly, that's usually more time than I have. Regardless, you are my sister and if it is comments you want, it is comments you'll get!!

    So did you really see rain drops yesterday? I called Mom to tell her I saw lightening tonight. I've been praying for rain (not that that's why it might rain), I want it to so much!

    And yes Plummy, you can tell a difference b/w over a 100 and under a 100. Less than 100, I'll agree to open windows in the car (my kids love the windows down). Over 100, there's no way. And my AC always complains when it gets over 100. Personally I like the heat, but I'm weird. I just like rain too.

  • Brownie Trifle, Huh. I bet that would have been yummy ; )

  • I don't get comments either, it's a tough crowd around here. Tho I did comment on a couple of your pictures. This has been a crazy week around my house. Actually with Katherine in half day kindergarten I think the whole year is going to be kind of crazy.

  • I think the comment right above CheriM's was either Alex or Beth, not noticing whose Xanga ID was active. 

  • Wow! Now you have alot of comments! My comment is to THANK YOU for providing a very entertaining blog. Very witty and interesting! I have recommended it to a few select relatives. You always were a wonderful writer, even as a child! Do you have any of those stories you wrote? If so, post a few excerpts so we can admire them or have a giggle. I'm going to try to get a picture one of these days....

  • Nope, none survived, at least of which I'm aware.  Don't even remember them.

    However, I'm considering resurrecting last fall's "Mercy Maud!" and trying to finish it. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment