February 16, 2006

  • You know, those skating commentators can be real downers.  There
    am I, enjoying one of the last competitor's - the silver medalist -
    nice bit of footwork (I'm a fan of good footwork) when Peggy Fleming
    says dismissively, "It's just too little, too late."

    Gee, Peggy, you sure brighten up an event.  A regular Little Miss Sunshine, that's you.

    Would it cause their teeth to fall out were they to lay off the
    negative unless it's in-your-face-obvious, and help the folks at home
    appreciate and enjoy what they're watching?

    And I was rather sorry to see Plushenko not puddle up when the Russian
    anthem was played, though the Swiss dude who took the silver was darn
    near bawling.

    I like a good puddle. 

Comments (13)

  • I was laughing at the commentators in one of the skating events when they were saying what an awful job this Asain guy had done and he ended up getting a really high score. Shows them! Ha!!!

  • I thought Scott was particularly bizarre, before each skater he'd make this ultra positive statement about how he expected such a good program because this guy was such a strong skater...and then as soon as the guy makes a mistake Scott says "and now everyone will see where this guy is lacking in ability...."  it's like...wait a minute Scott, one minute they're the best you've seen the next they're the worst excuse for Olympic skating you've ever seen.  Maybe someone spiked the commentators coffee with downers or something...it really ruined the skating for me to hear them waffling on and picking these guys apart...whatever happened to the good 'ol days when they just kept their mouths shut and only pointed out when a jump didn't have all of its rotations (cause like it goes so fast, I can't tell) so you knew why they didn't get such a high score.  Now this endeless critiquing....ghastly....I wonder how Scott and Peggy would judge the "Sewing Olympics" ...hmmm.....

  • You don't want 'em anywhere near the Sewing Olympics! =8^o

    A virtual shark feeding frenzy, that's what it'd be. Nothing left but a few scraps of material and some bobbins. [shuddering at the thought]

  • Yes! The Sewing Olympics are such a frenzied event as it is - we don't need no stinkin' "professional" commentators!

    You go, Kate!

    me<><

  • Peggy was commenting? I thought it was Sandra Bezic.

    Anyway, either Scott or Dick made a good point about Plushenko -- you probably shut down your ability to "puddle up" if you have to leave your family when you're 11 years old. Especially if you've grown up in a place like Volgograd -- sheesh, that place looked horrific.

    I was soooooooo rooting for Evan Lysacek to make it all the way back. And he came SO CLOSE. (He really couldn't have done better in the long program, though.) VANCOUVER!

  • Wasn't he amazing? What a comeback!

    Much as I like Plushenko, I can't say as how I saw anything worth him snagging 85 points, either for his actual skating or the component elements. Didn't seem to me his program, as designed, was anything out of the ordinary. Presumably the judges saw something I didn't.

  • It was Sandra Bezic, Jane. She does sound a lot like Peggy Fleming, though.

    me<><

  • That's funny.  I was thinking all the same stuff last night while watching the skating.  I wish there was some way to hear the music, but mute the commentators.  They are real downers. 

    I loved seeing the bronze medal winner in tears.  It's so emotional.  It makes me cry happy tears for them.  The gold winner looked emotionless. 

    I think NBC is doing a horrilbe job of covering the olympics.  I remember last time being able to turn on the TV any time and catch whatever event happens to be going on, and then seeing the celebration and awards ceremony after.  Now, we only get a couple hours a night of what 'they' feel is important, and I have only seen them with their medals and the National anthem playing once so far.  I didn't get to see them receive the medals though.

    Beth  

  • I daresay Plushenko was far from emotionless, but Russians tend to not put their emotions on public display.

    And regarding NBC, they have been rather a disappointment. Oh, for the days of ABC and Pierre Salinger!

    Now those were the Olympics.

  • NBC spreads the coverage around to USA, MSNBC and some other channel I can't remember. From what I saw somewhere there IS 24 hr coverage, if you get all of those channels. We get USA and NBC. And today USAs covering golf.

    me<><

  • What is really annoying is that I had to be up at 11 pm last night to see all of the men's ice skating. Quit jumping the coverage around already ... it isn't like they're waiting for live competition!

  • Dawn, Dawn, Dawn....if they did that, they wouldn't have a continuous audience for the commercials.

    Annoying as it is, we do have to remember what business they're in.

  • I know. But they didn't have a live audience for the commercials 'cause Jason, Nate, and I all fell asleep on the couch for over an hour waiting for Weir to skate. Well, Jason didn't care, but I wanted to see (as I had avoided the news of who placed where).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment