February 18, 2006

  • To our immense pleasure Sveta sent Dmitry a long letter and some photos both of Samara and herself.

    The letter contained both good news  –  Sveta realized a life-long dream by finally getting to the Black Sea, her first exposure to an ocean setting  –  and some not-so-good news  –  her Primary Romantic Interest, Stass, ended their relationship after nearly three years.  :^(

    Well, he’s in Cheboksary and she’s hundreds of miles away in Samara.  Those long-distance relationships are the dickens to keep alive.

    Still, it just shows Stass is a jerk, as he’ll never find anyone comparable to our Sveta.  MEN! 

    She sent three photos, one of her as bridesmaid to a friend last fall, and a couple from the trip to the Black Sea.  Unfortunately, the latter two had her way in the distance (Russians tend to do that, I’ve noticed), so the cropping couldn’t really get her face clearly:

    Isn’t she lovely? 


    Teeth are plaguey things, and that’s a fact.  This morning I was at the dentist having a temporary crown on a lower left molar removed and the permanent crown affixed, then this evening while eating a brown sugar brownie (with pecans) the first crown I ever had came off. 

    What had necessitated the need for that crown was when the tooth shattered to the gum line when being drilled several years ago.  So with the crown off, there’s not much there.  Icky.  I called the dentist immediately, who asked if I’m in pain, and since I had to say, “Well, no, not at the moment anyway,” said I should come in on Monday morning.

    It’s unnerving, however, as I’m waiting for it to start hurting, y’know?  I don’t think it’d be wise to get cold or hot back there, for instance, as cold air bugs it.  Watch it start to give me fits and an ice storm hits, so I can’t go anywhere to get it seen to. 

    OTOH, perhaps it’ll behave itself till Monday morning.  Still burns me up….I just DID the crown routine!  Those critters tend to be pricey, though the dentist said to haul the one that came off along, as it’s possible it can be reattached.  That’d be whole lots cheaper.

Comments (5)

  • Ooh! And my question is, how come she find a modest, attractive swimsuit in Russia, and I can’t find one in America?

  • They’re available, but you have to search for them, probably online.

    Which is a nuisance, as if there’s ONE piece of clothing that really needs to be tried on (other than foundations), it’s a swimsuit.

  • BTW, I love the picture!

  • She is a pretty girl.

    Crowns, I am pretty close to royality I’m sure having half a dozen of the things in my mouth. I was told by my dentist’s office that if you lose a crown and have pain you can set the crown back in place using toothpaste (if memory serves it should not be the gel type) or Vaseline. And of course, get to the dentist asap so that they can glue the offending crown back into place. Hope yours doesn’t cause you undue pain (or expense!)

  • Don bought some stuff at the drugstore intended to reattach crowns temporarily, but since it doesn’t hurt unless I carelessly let room temperature air or any other too-hot or too-cold substance get to it, I’ll leave well enough alone.

    Trouble with “ASAP” is when one breaks the crown off on a Friday evening!

    Dentists don’t like going back into the office on Friday evening any more’n anyone else does. He did instruct me to call if it became troublesome.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *