January 21, 2005

  • [suspiciously]  Are we all positive the weekend didn't get skipped somehow and it's actually Monday?  Due to a wrinkle in the time-space continuum or something?


    I've mentioned the fancy self-cleaning cat litter box Kirstin gave me for Christmas, right?


    Well, Boots got with the program, but Zeus has been a holdout.  This morning . . . early, before I even woke up Dmitry for school . . . I noticed Zeus squatting here in the living room.


    Squatting cats are Not Good.  Not good at all. 


    Rushed over, scolding and swatting, but she kept right on squatting.  Picked her up and determinedly strode towards the kitchen, intending to place Stupid Cat on the Official Cat Elimination Receptacle.


    Unfortunately I was unaware Stupid Cat was, er, persevering in what she was regrettably doing, but I figured it out real fast . . . as soon as I hit the puddle on the tile floor in the entry hall, skidded, and fell.  (I'm fine, BTW.)


    Now if that's not a Mondayish sort of occurance, I dunno what is.  

Comments (4)

  • Maybe if you put the box in a small area where she'll have to use it to go, no, allright, how about if you put the box on the spot where she, no, allright, how about you get a new cat??? Hee hee says your mom! Who has cleaned up mass quantities of "stuff". BTW use vinegar to cover the odor. Newspapers or old towels to blot then vinegar then more papers then water then papers then a bit of vinegar. Sounds like work but not once you get in the habit. What a habit to get in. Mom

  • Sounds like your mom has quite a vinegar habit there Anne!! My mothers cat got mad at her once and squatted over one of her new shoes and "filled it up".....luckily my mom caught the cat and was able to salvage her shoe without that icky cat smell (and considering my mom wears a size 4 EEE womens shoe, you can only imagine that her shoes aren't cheap....well...unless she finds a pair of childrens shoes wide enough for her Barney Rubble-esk feet).

  • Actually, rereading my post I can see why Zeus was reluctant...why would she voluntarily climb into what Officially Eliminates Cats? >:^>

    I wish.

  • Have you tried tough love?  My daughter-in-law's parents had a cat who randomly bit or scratched.  They'd yell and swat him, but couldn't break him of the habit.  My d-i-l was taking care of him while her parents were away, and the first time he bit her, she chased him clear through the house, hauled him out from under the piece of furniture he had skedaddled under, and whaled on him while yelling at the top of her lungs.  Pooter hasn't bitten or scratched since.  I don't know how this relates to litter box training.  I just make policy - you can carry it out. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment