February 8, 2009

  • Tell you what, I do love my Sunday school class and the choir. Yesterday there was a brunch for the ladies of the Harvesters' class, which was very nice indeed, and I was made very welcome. ;^)

    The food was good, too.

    This morning was Sunday school, followed by singing in the choir. (I only wish my voice were an asset, but everyone's kind enough to slough over my lack of range and general lack of ability to sight read.) Once the choir's part is done, many of us adjourn upstairs to a room where the sermon is broadcast, so we needn't try to find seats in the main sanctuary (which is almost totally full). After the service I heard my name called and one of the ladies said she and another lady were going to lunch and would I join them.

    Sure! We went to a seafood place on Bluebonnet Circle, where Pam and Kendra had soft fish tacos with rice and beans, while I had fried chicken tenders with french fries and hush puppies. Yum! We sat and talked for a good hour and a half. What a blessing to share such time with sisters in Christ! And one of them lives not far from me, which is nice.

    And on Tuesday night I'm going to the Bass Hall with another couple of friends from the choir, to hear the Southwestern Baptist Seminary choir (if I recall correctly).

    Life is perking up some, which I didn't think was possible not long ago.

    As it says in Lamentations 3:22-23:

    The LORD'S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease,
    For His compassions never fail.
    They are new every morning;
    Great is Your faithfulness.

    And true it is.

Comments (6)

  • It does amaze me how God sort of brings these things TO us instead of our always having to knock ourselves out searching for them. He always knows just what we need. Glad your'e in fellowship! (those ladies will figure out soon enough what a treasure they've hit on!)

  • :dancingcow: THat sounds like so much fun! I am so happy God is sending you more sisters-in-CHrist to spends some time with. Praise God!!! Have a wonderful time, and keep singing your heart out to the Lord. He doesn't care what you sound like or what your range is. All He hears is worship from a heart full of love.

  • That does sound awesome, Mama!  Fellowship is such a wonderful thing as we pursue a close walk with Christ.

    As a performer in the musical arts, please allow me to share a little nugget of advice for your singing.  First, I've heard your singing.  You have a most pure and mellow tone that would lull any child to sleep.  You have a presence that is welcoming and comforting.

    In my experience, I must allow my postive attitude to be the driving force in my musical development.  If I continue to comment on the things that are not my strengths (in a way that is not constructive, I mean), I find that development is made more difficult.  My talents will follow my attitude.  If there is something you're not comfortable with, find a way to make it better while concentrating on good things.  Your voice is delightful.  From a loving son! 

  • I'm so happy to hear you had a good day!  I bet the choir concert will be grand.  I think the whole Gambill family is vocally-impaired....but we love to sing!

  • You have me puddling up again here, dear Anne, but it's because I'm happy that you've had a happy day. The Lord be praised!

  • You have me puddling up again here, dear Anne, but it's because I'm happy that you've had a happy day. The Lord be praised!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment