December 15, 2008

  • No matter how I try, there are emotional minefields littering my world.

    Take going to Tom Thumb, a thing I rarely did with Don.

    Remembered to get a "thank you" card for us all to sign and have Alex take to his command, showing our appreciation for their hard work at getting Alex, Beth, and the girls on a flight to Texas on 24 hour notice, and allowing them to stay four weeks.

    Reaching for one that looked suitable, my eye fell on the one below it. That one started with "I Want to Grow Old With You".

    Immediately my throat closed up and tears threatened, as that was, of course, what Don and I had (in blissful ignorance) assumed we'd do, i.e. grow old together.

    Quickly chose a card and hurried from that aisle. Paused to look at some stand-alone displays of featured items and saw cans of tart red cherries.

    Don loved cherry pie, and I'd been intending to bake one for him but hadn't gotten around to it.

    Throat and eye action, same song, second verse.

    It's emotionally draining to go out and about, and that's a fact. It's as if the man's Santa Claus....he's everywhere! He's everywhere!

Comments (4)

  • You. Are. One of the priveleged few on the planet who has found True Love in this lifetime. Not trying to say Gee,-why-don't-you-be-thankful-for-what-you-had; mine is more an admiration/awe, of those who really lived in symbiosis during their stay on this earth. The excruciating difficulty of the readjustment is a testimony to the ideal union that had been forged. In a way, you're living for the two of you now; you're Don's diplomat/emissary, you have the task of representing you two to the world now - what was, and how unique and rare a jewel it has been. He's with you, through God, no doubt; be encouraged, because he's surely with you in that sense.

  • {{hugs}} My neighbor told me (her dear has been gone for a year and a half) that the firsts were the hardest. Trying to find a new "normal". He is with you, and always will be.

  • How sad can life be?  I'm tearing up, too. 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment