December 12, 2008

  • Bugs best stay away, that's all.

    This morning when I looked into the kitchen I saw - to my horror - one of those ghastly huge water bugs or Palmetto bugs or whatever they're called on the molding of the short wall next to the back door.

    Had Don been alive and at his desk in the bedroom, a shriek of "DOOOONNNNN!" would have rent the air.

    However, Don is otherwise occupied in heaven, so there I was. Keeping a wary eye on it I circled around to get the bug spray from under the sink, and took aim.

    Finally it moved and began running, with me hot on its heels. Figuratively speaking, as I doubt those disgusting legs have heels.

    As it began to head under the buffet I remembered I was wearing hard soled shoes so stomped on it in a truly savage fashion.

    By jingo, I almost enjoyed that. Very catharic. My husband's dead, I've no income, my life's taken a sharp downward turn....I WANT to stomp something flat. I want to feel the crunch.

    Bring 'em on.

Comments (8)

  • oh my....I'm calling the BPA.  Bug Protection Agency ;)

  • YEAH! Atta girl, Anne! bug------> :hammer:

  • Aren't water bugs an endangered species?  Isn't it cruel and unusual punishment to stomp on one, not to mention unladylike?

    Maybe not on all counts. 

  • They're not near endangered enough to suit me, sweetie. :smug:

  • What are they called when they're not "on the molding of the short wall next to the back door" ?  :tongue:

  • [glowering] Bradley bugs, that's what. Bradley bugs.

    :flirty:

  • 1) get a large sheet of bubble wrap (the big bubbles, not those little wimpy ones)

    2) Place on hard surface

    3) Wear hard soled shoes

    4) Stomp away!

  • I douse the waterbug with bug spray, then get a Dixie cup, and any nearby stiff piece of paper, or cardboard.  Then I cover the bug with the cup, and slide the cardboard underneath.  Then I can transport the bug to the commode for a swim.  Gotta have disposable cups nearby.

    The solution is to buy some boric acid at the hardware store, and get one of the boys to sprinkle it right along the foundation all around the house.  Keeps the bugs out!  And it's safe to use, I'm pretty sure.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment