July 5, 2008

  • Hope everyone had a spiffy Fourth!

    Ours was quiet, with Don and me staying home, mostly, Dan and Joe first out at the Stockyards (where they found a store selling Russian soda, can you imagine?  Dan said he did a double-take once he realized he was seeing Cyrillic) then at Viktor's house, and Dmitry spending the day with Carolyn.

    Watched fireworks from the front porch, as usual. 

    Around midnight Dan came into the living room to proudly announce that he was buying a car today!  A Firebird he'd found on eBay.  Needs some work, naturally, but it runs and will be most useful, as sometimes he and Joe want to work different shifts.

    He just arrived home with it:

    Dan_Firebirdsm

    Dan_Firebird2

    Dig the cool hat, BTW!  That was purchased yesterday down in the Stockyards, as was - I'm guessing - the "Texas" t-shirt he's wearing.  I think he looks very slick, indeed. 

    The boys amuse me considerably, both intentionally and un-.  When Joe went to fetch Max, I made a comment about that being one sweet set of wheels.

    To which he seriously replied, "Actually the wheels are underinflated." 

    "I was speaking figuratively, dear!"

    "Oh.  Right." 

Comments (5)

  • Of course, he (Dan) has already come in, wondering if we happen to have a vehicle battery recharger. :sigh:

  • :so-cool:  Dan looks thoroughly TEXAN - did the "boys" enjoy the fireworks?  It must be great to see them from your front porch!  :celebrate:

    I recorded the Boston Pops celebration and Cole loves watching it over & over!  I also recorded "Songs of Praise for America", which started with the West Point choir singing "The Star Spangled Banner", for which John, Cole & I respectfully placed our hands on our hearts.  Cole has heard me sing the national anthem MANY times (every time we would drive by a flag) - until he finally learned to say "No singing!".  I wasn't all that bad, I didn't think.  Anyway - this was the first time he ever heard anyone else sing it!

    That program had other, very wonderful, patriotic songs, three which I had never heard.  Well worth watching if they re-run it!  No fireworks, though.

  • They didn't last night, I don't think, as they were Out And About, but they'd watched them one of the other nights from the porch, and saw them on the night of the 4th while driving home.

    I love patriotic songs! Have been listening to Sousa marches and military anthems, too. ;^)

  • BTW:  What year is the Firebird!  It looks GREAT!  Congratulations, Dan!

  • I think it's a '97. Might be a '98.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment