September 3, 2007

  • Recently there's been some chatter regarding how Texas has a significantly large obesity problem.

    In the Dallas Morning News there's a story regarding the Big Tex Choice Awards, which is a competition between those who are introducing new foods for this year's State Fair.

    The entries:

    • Deep Fried Latte
      Fried pastry topped with cappuccino ice cream, caramel sauce, whipped cream and instant coffee powder.
    • Fried Cookie Dough - Cookie dough with chocolate chips, pecans and coconut, dipped in batter and fried.
    • Zesty Fried Guacamole Bites - Small scoops of guacamole breaded and fried. Served with salsa or ranch or spicy ranch dressings.
    • Country Pride Peach Cobbler on a Stick - Peach cobbler
      with dumplings rolled in pastry dough and fried. Covered with brown
      sugar and cinnamon and put on a stick.
    • Fernie's Fried Chili Frito Burrito Chili and
      chili-cheese-flavored Fritos wrapped in an uncooked flour tortilla and
      fried. Toppings include cheese sauce, shredded cheddar, jalapeños, sour
      cream, hot sauce and onions.
    • B.W.'s Original Fried Banana Pudding - Banana pudding wrapped in a flour tortilla, fried and topped with whipped cream and powdered sugar or cinnamon.
    • Mama's Fried Sweet Potato Pie - Pie filling wrapped in flour tortilla, fried and topped with powdered sugar and cinnamon.

    BTW, the Fried Cookie Dough won.  e-ghost

    Anyway, let's see......high obesity rate.....fried cookie dough.....could there be a connection?  e-headscratch

    e-nogood

Comments (10)

  • I can connect my overweightness to oatmeal cookies and chocolate.  I think that fried cookie dough sounds gastly.

  • None of them even tempt me, least of all the cookie dough thing.

    My weight is almost entirely due to my low activity level. I've always been sedentary, and since I've been ill it's been even worse, of course. Before I was sick, I'd only have to start exercising to drop weight. Now I can't exercise well, except in the pool, where I tend always to overdo. These won't be photos that make the blog - they are just TOO awful for me and Haz, but Ethan's so tall now when he stands us on his shoulders in the deep end, we're up to our knees out of the water. Penny, using my camera, was snapping madly. No one's tossed me around in a pool like that in years!

    But it was fun, even if I did get a snoot full of water!

    me<><

  • The Peach Cobbler on a Stick sounds wicked good to me, actually.

    It's been a long, long time since I've been to the State Fair, though, so the odds of my scoring one are low to nonexistent.

  • If it is going to be served at the State Fair, I guess it has to be fried.  Most of these sound great baked, but fried just makes my tummy turn.  I haven't been to the fair in a really long time, but I have heard their specialties are Funnel Cakes, Fried Twinkies, and Fried Snickers. 

  • Yes, but fair food is always thus. Except maybe in California.

  • Fried Snickers? You're making that up! =8^o

  • Nope, I've heard of Fried Snickers before too. And Fried Pickles and Fried Oreos, also.

  • I have actually tried fried pickles, and they are pretty good (except for the grease).  Never heard of fried oreos.  Now, why does everything have to be fried?  I understand if it needs to be cooked, why not just fry it and put it on a stick.  But oreos and snickers and twinkies are all ready to be eaten.  I even bake my french fries, so i guess I'm the wrong person to entice with fried foods (I do love fries when i go out to eat, as long as they are not too greasy though).  I just never fry anything at home because it tastes just as good, or better, a healthier way.  My new favorite kitchen item is my steamer pot.  I never cared for green beans much before, but now they are my favorite when they are fresh and steamed.  Yummmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyy!!!

  • Oh yeah! Steamed veggies....ummmmm.

  • Fried Ice Cream

    Fried Pop Tarts

    Beth asks "Now, why does everything have to be fried?"  Because, IT'S GOOD THAT WAY!  Long live the South.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment