June 17, 2007

Comments (10)

  • Wow!!!  What an incredible voice. 

    Simon seems much more at home and relaxed on that show than on American Idol. 

  • Amazing. I was just reading in the Economist last night that classical music is dead. This guy apparently shows otherwise.

    Just an anecdote:  I knew a woman here who had six children, one of whom was an opera singer. She told me that he used to practise while mowing the lawn, mking it a goal to be heard above the machine!

  • What I love is the slightly supercilious attitude on the part of the male judge on the right when he hears Potts wants to sing opera, and the slack-jawed astonishment that takes its place once Potts begins to sing.

    That look was priceless.

  • That was great! Was that judge Simon Cowell, or just a dead ringer for him in both appearance and attitude?

    The lady judge was almost in tears.

  • There's a second YouTube video of Potts at the finals or semifinals, singing something else, and after that perfomance the lady judge told him this was the second time he'd made her cry, so apparently there was no "almost" about it...she'd puddled up.

  • He WON! Next performance: singing for the Queen of England at the Royal Variety Performance.

    He receives prize money of £100,000, with which he'll will pay off large debts accrued when he was unable to work due to health problems, and get his teeth fixed.

    Like he'll ever see this, but still...

    Congratulations, Paul! Hoping your dream of an opera career comes true.

  • Thanks so much for sharing this!  I clapped my hands for him!

  • Wow, I do hope he can have a career now singing Opera. He is wonderful, thanks, Anne, for the link.

  • The judge isn't the only one who puddled up.

  •   Hi Anne - I just signed your guestbook!

    That is such a beautiful performance - I posted it too!!   It's so fun to see the judges reactions - but what I love the most is that audience.  There is an audience that "gets" good music.  I don't know if you could find an American audience that would react with the same appreciation, let alone vote this guy to win the national title.  The whole thing just gives me warm fuzzies!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment