May 10, 2007

  • I'm ALMOST as smart as a 5th grader.

    Regrettably I cannot claim to be AS smart as a 5th grader, seeing as how I couldn't accurately answer (actually, I couldn't even hazard a guess) the question:  In the human body, the adrenal glands generally sit above which organ?

    In grade school?  This is a grade school question?  I'm going to be 56 next month (I want a box of Dark Chocolate Longhorns, available at Tom Thumb) and I hadn't a clue.  (The kidneys.  The contestant answered it correctly.)

    However, I could correctly say which state holds the majority of Yellowstone Park (Wyoming), how many L's are in the term "awfully full", which ocean is surrounded by the Ring of Fire (Pacific, and it's a good thing the kid knew, for the mortgage-loan-officer-contestant had no idea), and which Virginia city was the capital of the Confederacy (Richmond).

    That last was the question that brought the contestant - and the student, too - down, which is lamentable. 

    The contestant before him was a lovely young woman who could not accurately answer the question:  Of these three, which is on the outside of an atom's nucleus....proton, electron, neutron?

    She was utterly lost.  Jeff Foxworthy, the game show host, finally asked her point-blank if she knew what a proton is.

    "Um, no," she admitted.

    An electron?  Does she know what an electron is?

    "No," she said ruefully.

    Neutron?

    "Nope."

    After a pause, Foxworthy mused, "Of course, that's going to make it more difficult."

    She dropped out, taking $50K home.

    Okay, this is the show I want to go on. 

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment