April 8, 2007

  • Wonderful, wonderful reflection from Tim Challies:

    "Mary." Of all the sentences in the Bible, this is one of my
    favorites. Mary Magdalene has come to Jesus' tomb and is distressed to
    see that his body is gone. Convinced that someone has taken away His
    body, she stands outside the tomb weeping. Two angels appear and ask
    simply "Woman, why are you weeping?" She replies, "They have taken away
    my Lord, and I do not know where they have laid him."

    But then
    she turns and sees someone. She does not recognize Him, though it is
    the very one she seeks. Somehow her eyes are closed so she cannot see
    who it is. This man says "Woman, why are you weeping? Whom are you
    seeking?" She supposes He must be the gardener and says, "Sir, if you
    have carried him away, tell me where you have laid him, and I will take
    him away." She wants the body back and begs that this man might return
    it to her.

    But then, in an instant, her eyes are opened. Jesus,
    as He had called Lazarus out from the tomb, calls to her. He says but
    one word. "Mary." At at that very instant she knew. At that very
    instant she saw and knew and understood that the One she sought was
    standing right there behind her. She turned and cried out "Rabboni!"
    (which means teacher). I wonder, did she scream this word and throw
    herself at Him? Perhaps she could do little more than call out in a
    whisper as she feel at his feet. We don't know. But we do know that she
    clung to Jesus, overwhelmed with His presence, overwhelmed to know that
    He was alive. She saw and heard and believed.

    As I read these
    words, I think of the way Jesus called me and the way He has called
    countless thousands of men and women to Himself. Like Mary I was once
    unable to see Jesus for who He is. I saw a man who may as well have
    been a gardener. He was a good man, a moral man, and maybe even a great
    man. But only when Jesus called me by name was I able to see that He is
    the god-man. Only then was I able to see Him as the Lamb of God who
    takes away the sin of the world. Only then did I really and truly know
    Him. And only then were my eyes opened so I could see and my ears
    unstopped so I could hear and my heart renewed so I could believe. Like
    Mary, He called me by name.

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment