October 16, 2006

  • Christ Chapel's fall spiritual growth focus is on basic evangelism, and is called Just Walk Across the Room. Yesterday's focus was on nailing down our faith stories, whether we came to faith recently or cannot recall a time when we weren't in Christ. One hundred words or fewer on the difference Christ Jesus makes/has made in our lives.

    Mine's still a work-in-progress. During the service, however, we sang a hymn which does a truly magnificent job of answering the question implicitly posed by Peter: "...always be ready to give a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you."

    Before the throne of God above
    I have a strong and perfect plea.
    A great high Priest whose Name is Love
    Who ever lives and pleads for me.
    My name is graven on His hands,
    My name is written on His heart.
    I know that while in Heaven He stands
    No tongue can bid me thence depart.

    When Satan tempts me to despair
    And tells me of the guilt within,
    Upward I look and see Him there
    Who made an end of all my sin.
    Because the sinless Savior died
    My sinful soul is counted free.
    For God the just is satisfied
    To look on Him and pardon me.

    Behold Him there the risen Lamb,
    My perfect spotless righteousness,
    The great unchangeable I AM,
    King of glory and of grace,
    One in Himself I cannot die.
    My soul is purchased by His blood,
    My life is hid with Christ on high,
    With Christ my Savior and my God!

    Char­i­tie Ban­croft, 1863

Comments (3)

  • Compare that with the current church music scene:  "Lord, you make me so happy, happy, happy.  You make me so glad, so glad, so glad."

  • I regret to say Christ Chapel sings its share of fluff, but at least 30-40% of the hymns are actual hymns that teach doctrine.

    You know....the good stuff.

  • That is a lovely verse - must be fun to sing!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment