August 31, 2006

  • The Navy has officially left the building, now that Charles has been delivered to the airport (ought to have taken off by now, but you know airlines!  He's likely sitting in a cramped seat, stuck on a taxiway at DFW). 


    August06 728 


    Alright, fine, it's not my best photographic effort, okay?  But I thought I'd surreptitiously snap pix whilst the surreptitious snapping was good.  >;^>


    August06 731


    Love how the yellow arrow points pretty much at Charles!  It's astonishing how simple check-in has become, what with the self-serve kiosks like that, which even allow baggage check in.  Almost as soon as he'd received his boarding pass a woman at the counter was calling his name so he could turn in his duffle bag....I beg your pardon, Charles, sea bag.  As he approached the counter she beamed at him and said "Awww....don't you look cute?"


    Just what a steely-eyed killer from the deep wants to be called where everyone can hear, huh?  "Cute." 


    I thought he was, too, but didn't say so. 


    She was very kind, and offered to take a picture of the three of us together:


    August06 734


    Then she shooed us away, claiming she'd start crying any second if we didn't. 


    One thing's for sure, though....the best part of such send-offs is when they come home again!  Can't have a proper homecoming unless someone leaves, after all, and I do love joyous homecomings.  Now there are two to look forward to!   e-thumbs


     

Comments (2)

  • Cute? I'd say "studly," if I weren't old enough to be his mama.

    I'll stand on "Cute,".

    Hugs, dear. Poor Dmitry - you'll be hovering over him now, won't you?

    me<><

  • All I could think of upon seeing that arrow was "Caution: Bag belonging to young man. May contain toxic articles of unwashed clothing." (Of course I know Charles would never go to sea with a bag in that state, but it's what you think of when you see a young guy with a bag.)

    Best wishes to the Bubblehead! And hugs to Mom, and don't smother the little brother!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment