March 18, 2006

  • [disappointed]  Well, darn.  Best laid plans, I suppose.  That's the trouble with not being on the "call" list when a family's returning from Russia....if the scheduled flight doesn't work out, one doesn't know it until everyone's off the plane and your people weren't there.

    Which is what happened tonight.  Don, Dmitry and I drove out to DFW airport to meet the Buckholts' flight from JFK, taking with us four boxes of sandwiches, cookies, bananas, and bottled water.  The Waybourns were famished when they got home, I remember, so it was arranged that we'd meet their flight, bring food, and I'd do my infamous paparazzi imitation. 

    Only they weren't on the flight. 

    It's always a kick, though, being there while a flight from New York arrives, particularly one that originated at JFK, the international airport.  An elderly Russian couple arrived, happily and tearfully met by (presumably) their granddaughter.  There was a trio of Korean (I think, though possibly Chinese) young men greeting another young man, and I was amused and nonplussed to hear the one of those waiting observe the one arriving was, and I quote, "Bright eyed and bushy tailed!"

    Didn't know Asians knew anything about bright eyes, never mind the bushy tails. 

    A tired-looking woman came through the revolving door and a young boy ran eagerly up to meet her, pointing to his mouth.  "I've got a loose tooth!" he blurted.  Now there's a "welcome home" for a mom. 

    Really, one of the most charming ways to spend an evening is to hold vigil at the baggage carousel, watching and listening to the travelers being greeted.

    Still wish Viktor and Vladimir had been on that flight, though. 

Comments (3)

  • So did they miss the flight? Did you get your wires crossed?

    I'm sorry for your missed celebration, and hope everything's ok.

    Hugs!

    me<><

  • I've no idea. It was nearly 11:30 before we got home, so too late to call anyone to inquire. Daresay I'll find out later this morning. ;^)

  • BTW, it turns out they'd caught an earlier flight, one which landed about 7:45 p.m.

    The important thing is they're home safe and sound! ;^)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment