November 26, 2005

  • Refrigerators!  There are too many of the creatures from which to choose, and that's a fact. 

    We're trying to decide between a side-by-side model or a bottom-mount
    model.  The side-by-side tends to have more freezer capacity
    (yay!) but it's narrow, which is a problem for big or wide items (think
    DiGigorno pizza). 

    There's a nifty combo by LG that I like the looks of, only it's a bit
    pricier than the others we're considering....it has water thru the
    door, as well as being a bottom-mount:

    And I like the freezer arrangement, too:

    Only thing is, I've only seen this one online, not in a store.  Would really like to physically try it out first, y'know?

Comments (9)

  • Personally I wouldn't do the side-by-side again. I hate not having the width. It's hard when I want to flash-freeze things on a cookie sheet, for instance, or the pizza situation you mentioned. Also, I'd save the money and not get the water in the door. You just have to keep buying filters for them, which isn't cheap ($30-40 per filter and I already need to change mine...just bought the fridge in July).

  • If you went with the one in the picture, would you have to buy only food packaged in pleasingly coordinated shades of green and yellow?

  • I have the side by side type and have found the freezer fine because I have a separate freezer in the laundry room. But also the side by side ones don't have as much room as one is led to believe. I have water thru door and have turned off filter so as not to have to replace it tho a friend is sorry as she doesn't like taste of city water. I decided long ago to drink city water. And not buy Starbucks and read library books only buying reference books, I'm cheap. A penny saved is a penny earned. Can you tell how old I am by this?  Old, that how old. My grandmom used to give me book of month club books she had read for Xmas. Also homemade strawberry jam. But then my hubby's mom believed in excess when it came to shopping. So I do excess with presents and drink water from faucet. Works for me.

  • Mom does indeed believe in "excess" regarding presents, as it's hers and Dads generous "Heck, we didn't go on a long cruise or buy a new car" checks that are funding the new fridge. Aren't they the best?

    I'm pretty well decided on a bottom-mount single-door style, no water thru the door, by Samsung.

    Thanks for the feedback!

  • We had a side-by-side in a condo (no choice - it came with the unit) and I didn't like it.  Not enough room for big things and not as much flexibility.  I do like having the freezer section at the bottom as it makes things in the frig part easier to reach.  That's what I'll go for next time, but I understand they're more expensive.

  • I have one similar to the one in the picture, I like it very much!  It was also funded by a gift!  The freezer in the one in the picture is better than mine, it just has a second pull out shelf, not those nice bins.  Ours is a Kenmore.  The one thing, though, is that there is a full width bin at the bottom of the fridge under the other two half-width bins, that when it is pulled out, the top tends to come off the hinges and pop off, a not too terribly annoying design flaw. 

    We did not get a water dispenser because we use a Berky water filter.  The ice isn't filtered (there WERE models that did that, we just didn't get one), which bothers me some, I can taste the chlorine, but other than that, it is a great fridge! 

    It is huge and having a wide fridge, but having the doors divided means that it doesn't come out into the room so far.

    Hope this helps! 

  • My grandmother has had the freezer on the bottom kind forever and I think it's the coolest. But she also has a chest freezer to take the excess frozen stuff. I've had the side-by-side kind and I hated the lack of space.

  • Oh, wanted to mention that I love the way the doors open in the middle on that model you're showing. Love that idea! All you have to do is remember which side what you want is on. ;)

  • I grew up with the bottom freezer and it works pretty good. I don't like side by sides for the same reason as you -- pizza doesn't fit! Right now my folks got a new fridge and gave us the old one with water and ice in the door so I'm waiting for dh to hook that up. I also like it has a buzzer when the door is left often too long, so I can shout into the kitchen asking the children what they are looking for!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment