June 21, 2005

  • Okay, I'm getting there.  It's been a slow, laborious process but
    I'm optimistic that before too long I'll have managed to download,
    burn, then convert some songs to MP3 format, at which point they can be
    put on the PSP.

    Used Rhapsody to burn a CD this morning!

    Worked like a charm except I somehow got "Mack the Knife" on there
    twice.  Fortunately I'm powerful fond of "Mack the Knife."

    Tell you what, there's nothing like searching through songs (pardonnez-moi,
    tracks) on a site such as Rhapsody to drive oneself mad trying to
    remember the name or the artist of one song or another.  My
    memory's tickled by snippets of songs that aren't sufficient to dredge
    up the necessary information.  Argh!

    My brother and I were talking about this on Sunday at the party, and he
    observed how strange it is to read about iPods and other MP3 players
    boasting of their ability to hold hundreds, possibly even thousands,
    of songs.

    There aren't, he said plaintively, more than a few dozen songs he particularly wants to listen to.  Who on earth likes THAT many songs?