January 25, 2005

  • Yesterday afternoon Dmitry was sitting here in the living room at the computer chair, contentedly eating red salad while preparing to search for game hints on the internet, when he sighed happily and observed, "I'm glad I'm alive."  After a pause he continued, "It's a good ting [that's his pronunciation...he hasn't gotten the hang of 'th' yet] I was born."


    I smothered a laugh while agreeing, "Yes, it's a very good thing you were born!"


    As often as he shows himself to be an ordinary 14 year old boy, alternately jubilant, sullen, happy, cranky, etc., it sometimes shows through that his childhood saw more unhappiness than most children's, so he occasionally takes time to appreciate what he now has, and savor the small pleasures.


    I pray he never loses this facility.

Comments (3)

  • Red salad, an Internet connection and cheat codes - now THAT'S much to be thankful for!

    I rejoice with you in Dmitry's happiness. Think how hard it all was just a few months ago!

    His appreciation should shame everyone of us who are not thankful for every day and every blessing!

    Hugs, Anne!

    me<><

  • That must have meant a lot to you, Anne.  How wonderful that he didn't just THINK it, but SAID it out loud.

  • I'm with Lois, it must be most wonderful to you and Don to hear him say it!!! I think we could all learn a lot from your Dmitry.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment