February 11, 2006
-
It's official: Kwan's out, and the girl who placed third in the U.S. national championship last month, Emily Hughes, is to replace her.
This is assuming Hughes can find some way to reach Italy, considering the blizzard in the NE.
It shows, IMO, that someone who has been shown to be injury-prone should not be given a medical exception as Kwan was. She apparently has had a problem with groin pulls, and suffered another yesterday.
You know, were I the officials of the US Olympic organization, those who approved Michelle Kwan's fervent plea to be given one of the few spots on the US women's figure skating team even though she'd been suffering various ailments causing her to be unable to compete recently, I'd be as frosted as the mountains around Torino if she withdraws before skating a lick in competition.Michelle's being there means someone else isn't. Her presence results in someone else's absence.
She'd have the nerve of a bad tooth to cause another skater to miss out on coming to the Olympics only to say, "Well, never mind."
Michelle, hon....you're 25 years old. You wanted this....you got it. Now get out there and skate, and if it means you wind up at the bottom of the rankings, suck it up.
Comments (4)
I thought she had an injury after she got there. She wants to skate, just not with an injury to endanger herself. Of course, I haven't watched so much as a minute of the Games. All I know is this: If a flag has green in it, that country is Trouble.
This is ridiculous - so NOW she quits? After manipulates the team process? That's ridiculous.
Ridiculous.
I think she's afraid that the new scoring system will keep her out of medal contention.
That's what I think.
me<><
She said sitting for four hours during the opening ceremonies wasn't good for her, and she's stiff. Her body didn't feel right when she woke up Saturday morning, and that's why she couldn't manage the triple whatever jump in practice.
These special exceptions (re: who goes to the Olympics) are generally a bad idea, I think. Unless the athlete had a bad case of the flu right when the qualifying competition was held. But when it's due to various injuries? That's crazy.
Even if it was flu, hey, if you're sick and miss the qualifiers, dem's da breaks! Life's hard.
me<><
Comments are closed.