September 6, 2006

  • I don’t recall trying to learn all this stuff back when *I* was in 9th grade!   Actually, I don’t recall much of this stuff, period.  Maybe it’s been discovered in the interim?

    Whatever, last night Dmitry had brought home his biology text, which was huge, and struggled to work on his pack.  To his dismay, the subject currently being studied qualifies – to him, at least – as “suggestive themes”……i.e. reproduction, genetics, etc. 

    Only Dmitry would consider THAT to be “suggestive themes”! 

    But mercy Maud, this stuff is hard!  I was overwhelmed, and cannot imagine what it must be like for Dmitry as he attempts to learn (taken from another source):

    “Just like spermatogenesis, oogenesis involves the formation
    of haploid cells from an original diploid cell, called a primary
    oocyte, through meiosis. The female ovaries contain the primary
    oocytes. There are two major differences between the male and female
    production of gametes. First of all, oogenesis only leads to the
    production of one final ovum, or egg cell, from each primary oocyte
    (in contrast to the four sperm that are generated from every spermatogonium).
    Of the four daughter cells that are produced when the primary oocyte divides
    meiotically, three come out much smaller than the fourth. These
    smaller cells, called polar bodies, eventually disintegrate, leaving
    only the larger ovum as the final product of oogenesis. “

    This is in 9th grade?  What happened to fruit flies, and Bb, bb, BB, etc.?  I did rather well with genetics in 9th grade at Stripling Jr. High, but have no memory of delving into such detail as this. 

Comments (9)

  • We did, either in 9th or 11th grade biology.

  • And you’re HOW many years younger’n me, Penty? Twenty?

  • We had biology in 10th grade, and I remember learining all that.  Learnt all the bones in the body, too, though I’ve forgotten most of them now.

  • Ditto, you young thing.

    Most times when I come across stuff I learned in school but had forgotten, I can recall learning it the first time. When it comes to chemistry, for instance, I can remember the classroom and lab; I can remember the art class at Nolan, and where I took speech at Stripling, and a lot of what was taught.

    This stuff is ringing absolutely NO bells. None. Try though I might, I cannot raise even the smallest whisper of a memory of it. I’d swear I’ve never heard of it before.

  • I’m with you, Anne.  I don’t remember anything like that in high school biology.   Course, maybe none of it had been discovered yet way back then.   : )

  • That’s what I’m thinking…it hit the textbooks after we took those classes.

    Still seems awfully high-level for 9th grade.

  • Fourteen, I think, sugar. You’re the same age as my eldest brother.

    I’ll remember this next time you get annoyed that I refer to your age, and needle you mercilessly about having claimed to be 60 1/2.

    Y’all were probably learning Latin instead, which had hit the skids by the time I got to high school.

  • I totally agree with you. I’m 51 and I remember the dominant vs resessive genes, etc., that all looks like something from a collage class. Of course now when the kids come out of Kindergarden they basically are expected to know everything that we were taught in first grade. And looking again at what you posted, what kid is going to remember ANY of it the day after the last exam?

  • Right you are!  Don looked at some of the stuff in Dmitry’s biology book that he’s studying, and said he’d studied that in his college biology class.  =8^o

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *