February 15, 2008

  • Well, Dmitry finally has Valentine’s Day in his rear view mirror.

    This was his first time to have a sweet babboo at Valentine’s Day, and he swiftly realized it’s a Big Deal to teenage girls here.

    Expectations were high, he feared, and he was anxious not to blow this.  A few days ago we were in Tom Thumb (a “Safeway” grocery store) and he was examining the roses, as those are Carolyn’s favorite flower, and making sure I understood it’s red roses I should get on Valentine’s Day (while he’s at school; he didn’t want to get them the day before, wanting them to be fresh, but OTOH, he didn’t want to get them after he’s out of school on The Day for fear of their either being gone or picked over).  He carefully chose a card for her.  He already had a box of candy (red heart-shaped box decked in a black faux-leather jacket, reminiscent of Dmitry’s).  As we walked through the store he kept spying possible additional gifts, to my combined consternation and annoyance, as it seemed to me what he had – plus the dinner out on The Night – was sufficient for a 17 year old boy to give his girlfriend.

    Naturally he picked up on this, so the suggestions came fast and furious, becoming more silly by the minute.    (“Donuts?  Hot dogs?”)

    At last it was Valentine’s Day afternoon and he was waiting for Carolyn to arrive.  One slight hitch was revealed when she came, as she’d been driven over by her sister who had camera in hand, prepared to take photos of them, and she cried, “But you’re not dressed yet!” when she saw Dmitry.

    Well, yeah, he was in his school clothes of a black polo shirt and black slacks…what’s wrong with that?  Perfectly suitable for the restaurant where he had reservations.

    Trouble is, Carolyn’s family had somehow gotten the idea he was taking her to the Reata, an upscale, fairly pricey restaurant in one of the downtown high-rise buildings. 

    Um, no.  They’re going to the Italian Inn in Ridglea, with the singing waiters, etc.  Very traditional spot for Valentine’s Day, prom nights, anniversaries, and so on, but not nearly as expensive or fancy.  We felt bad about the miscommunication, for that must have been a bit of a let down for her….expecting the Reata and getting the Italian Inn.  Apparently when extending the invitation Dmitry couldn’t recall the name of the restaurant – though what on earth is hard about “Italian Inn” I cannot imagine, but that’s Dmitry for you – and that allowed imagination to fill in the blank.

    She took the change with good grace, however, observing that at least she needn’t change into the dress she’d brought to wear.  Unfortunately the only shoes she had were black high heels, and she was carrying them by the time I collected them from Border’s Books (which is where I took them after their dinner, as they’re both book store enthusiasts and he wanted to buy her a couple of anime books to complete the Valentine’s Day festivities).

    Still, they seemed to have a good time and Carolyn was, I believe, pleased with the various gifts with which Dmitry had showered her. 

    At last he can relax. 

    Well, until April, which holds both her birthday and their one-year anniversary. 

Comments (7)

  • Dmitry…note to self – “work on communication skills”. LOL!  How many times have I thought we need to do the same thing?  Nothing like our “expectations” to ruin things for us, huh Anne?  I’ve always said that “expectations” are a woman’s worst enemy.  I’m glad that Carolyn had the maturity to deal with the disapointment. 

  • Dmitry…note to self – “work on communication skills”. LOL!  How many times have I thought we need to do the same thing?  Nothing like our “expectations” to ruin things for us, huh Anne?  I’ve always said that “expectations” are a woman’s worst enemy.  I’m glad that Carolyn had the maturity to deal with the disapointment. 

  • How’d that happen?  Oh well! Now you have 3 comments, but they’re all from me…what a let down! :)

  • How sweet. Oh gosh I NEVER went out with reservations for Valentines as a teen, in fact I can’t recall doing anything special. I’m still pretty ‘whatever’ about Vday, the chocolates are 50% off today, my husband better hit a walgreens ; )

    We ate at Italian Inn for our 5th anniversary (and we’re coming up on our TENTH this summer, how did that happen????) it was nice. I can never remember the name either! 

  • Where are the pictures?  In all the frenzy – did you forget to snap one?  I’m glad they had a good time.  Wow- Reata is a pricey place?  What – no limo?  Looks like Dmitry needs to work after school!

  • Do you know, I didn’t take a single photo? I’m losing my touch, obviously. And no…no limo! Though there was a white stretch limo parked outside the Baker St. Pub, which I thought amusing.

    AAMOF, Dmitry’s talking about finding a job.

  • It’s not easy being teen.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *