August 23, 2007

  • Hard to believe it’s almost time for school.

    Okay, I know Bethany and Benjamin are already back at school, and the homeschoolers are up and running, but Dmitry and his friends don’t start until Monday the 27th.  Tonight was the school’s open house, which was pretty much a waste of time, unkind though it might be of me to say.  Dmitry’s got the same homeroom teacher he had last year – to his chagrin – so he’ll be right back in the same area. 

    He mostly went so he could see Ravinn, who was supposed to have been on the Galveston trip only her mother got fritzed out by the hurricane and at the last minute forbade her to go.  Of course, the hurricane avoided Texas entirely, instead concentrating on Mexico.  That’s the way it goes!  Here’s a photo I snagged with my cell phone camera of Ravinn, Dmitry, and Jason:

    Open_house

    Darn cell phone camera has a nasty tendency to “smear” the photo unless both the subject(s) and I hold perfectly still for a few seconds.  It’s quite disappointing, as the higher-pixel camera was one of the primary reasons for my choosing that particular model. 

    Again, such is life, I suppose.  Dmitry had a super time on the trip, bringing me a beautiful coffee mug and a whale figurine, which might sound hokey but it’s not….it’s small and lovely.  He went fishing three times, catching eight fish (assuming a crab counts as a fish, but not counting the sea weed that would occasionally put up quite the fight) altogether.  He tried oysters at a restaurant and to say he was unimpressed is a serious understatement.  He hated ‘em.  Loved the fish, etc. but not the oysters.  NASA was fun, though crowded and with a lot of stairs.  Apparently he thought of me while there, thinking “Mom would hate this!”

    I guess it doesn’t matter so much what he’s thinking about me so long as he is

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *