December 23, 2006

  • The Jingle Bell Brigade has left the building.

    Why do I call them the Jingle Bell Brigade?  Because they burst spontaneously into song (and to think people say musicals aren’t true to life!), singing “Jingle Bells” over and over and over and….. 


    Here they began singing “Silent Night” only fizzled out due to having forgotten the words; I picked up the slack, for Meredith – over on the far left – was signing it:

    When I think how many crafty things I’d prepared for them to do, I could just scream.  The only one they were really interested in was the faux-gingerbread house activity, generously provided by Elaine, and the main thing they liked about it was the glitter glue pens I provided.  Hadn’t actually planned upon them using those on the houses, but immediately small hands reached for them.

    Dec06 081

    Dec06 080

    After working on the houses and singing, they chose to adjourn to the living room to play and hang out.  Memory is always a popular past-time with this crew:

    Dec06 100

    I gathered them together for a group photo, which they agreed to cooperate with so long as they were allowed to pull one of these:

    Dec06 103

    Here’s the real photo, duded up a trifle:

    Heartwarming times! 

Comments (4)

  • You know how finicky those artsy type can be. My niece, Emma, has generated thousands upon thousands of “masterpieces”; a few of which I proudly display on my fridge. When Kidlet gets together with her they sit there for hours, drawing and whispering back and forth. They seem to love the time they spend together.

  • Beautiful kids!   And not a bad voice on Grandma either.  

  • Sweet. (I’ve not watched the videos, I’ll do that when I have this part of the house to myself so that I can hear the video too….I find them more enjoyable if I don’t have to listen to everyone in my house competing!) I love the funny face photo. When we have the cousins together for a picture they’re always allowed one funny face photo to warm up for the nice picture. Your house looks like fun, can I send my to you for a craft day?

  • The next craft day is roughly a year from now, Cheri, but you bet…!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *