October 12, 2006

  • A couple of nice bits of news arrived this morning:  first, a long email from Sveta, along with many photos taken on her vacation trip to someplace on the coast, and second, confirmation that the short email I sent to Charles (regarding Summer) was indeed sent on to his boat.

    Wasn’t absolutely certain I remembered his email address correctly, but apparently I did. 

    Tell you what, I’ve been to the mountains, and I’ve been to the ocean, but it’s uncommon to be able to do both at the same time.  Beautiful!

    CIMG1529

    Sveta says she’d love to live by the ocean where it’s always warm, and she needn’t be bundled up in heavy coats.  (Already it’s cold in Samara.)

    CIMG1513

    CIMG1530

    Gorgeous sunset!

    CIMG1571

    Russia’s a lovely, lovely country.

    The last photo (well, that I’m posting…she email many) took Dmitry aback somewhat; “Is that a wine bottle she’s holding?”  

    “Could be, Dmitry….for crying out loud, the woman’s almost 26 years old.  She can have some wine if she wants it.”  

    CIMG1616

    Tell you where I’d love to take Sveta and that’s Hawaii!  She’d be in hog heaven, wouldn’t she?  

Comments (7)

  • Showing my ignorance….where in Russia is it warm enough on the coast to go about bikini-clad? I’ll probably go duh when you say it, but I can’t think of it now…

  • But if you want to treat Sveta to Hawaii, I’d suggest you meet her there…

  • Down on the Black Sea. It’s a popular vacation area for Russians.

  • AHA! Consulting an atlas, I see that there does still remain some Russian coast on the Black Sea. I had thought it all belonged to breakaway states such as Ukraine.

  • Beautiful pictures!!

    A woman friend of mine who has…two grown biological children, two Russian children (10 and 8) and one Korean child (5, she is Katherine’s buddy), is trying (okay she and her husband are planning) on adopting 3 Russian siblings. Keep your fingers crossed for them and mention them in your prayers. I am hoping when I see her again next week to hear that everything is going as planned!

  • How exciting would that be! What are their ages, do you know? And what region are they from?

  • I think they’re about 6, 8 and 12, but I’m not sure (I’ve seen a picture and they’re darling) I keep meaning to ask her what region the two she has are from!! I’ll try to remember to ask where they’re all from. I am very excited for them all.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *