March 11, 2006

  • I believe I can safely deem the group ice skating idea a dismal failure.  

    Arrived at the ice rink and managed to get myself laced into a pair of
    skates.  This took a goodish while, as the first pair were too
    large, and in any case I’ve never been able to figure out how to get
    them laced up tightly.  Soon’s you let go of the tautened strings
    they loosen.  However, eventually I realized this was as good as
    they were gonna get and awkwardly made my way to an entrance to the
    rink itself, a couple of minutes past the lesson’s start time.

    Hmmm…..which of the groups of older-looking people (“older” being a
    relative term, as mostly there were children on the ice) might be the
    class?  After another few minutes I snagged a woman holding a
    clipboard, who cheerfully pointed out several young ladies gathered
    together on the opposite side of the rink.  e-fingers_ears

    She kindly advised me, before skating off to take her own class, to
    take small steps, hold onto the rail, and if I feel myself falling,
    lean forward and grab my knees.  She also mentioned all the other
    adult class members had skated before.

    After three minutes I wasn’t even a quarter of the way around the rink,
    and the spot where the class was looked as distant as the moon.

    Nothing like having to swim to one’s first swimming class! 

    I fear Sister Bernadette Marie was correctomundo all those years ago at
    Nolan, and I have no persistance, for I gave the whole thing up as
    being hopeless.  The other class members  weren’t terrific,
    but hey, they could at least skate forward, and one or two could even
    manage backwards.  Then there was me, hanging onto the rail like
    grim death, unable to arrive at the class at all.

    Naturally I was told to get a refund would require talking to the manager on Monday….he doesn’t work on the weekends. 

    Trouble is, I’d still like to skate.  Wonder if the refund could
    be applied to private lessons instead?  Those are also offered, I
    noticed.  Maybe take private lessons first, then switch to group?    e-11_confused

Comments (1)

  • Oy! I took a “Mommy and Me” skating class when Bennett was about 2. I really could have used one of the upturned buckets they gave the little ones to hold onto (of course, my bucket would have needed to be a bit taller than the little kiddie ones). At the end of the classes (a month or two’s worth), I had learned…..ready….how to stand on the ice, and kind of duck walk. Yes, I think that private lessons would be an idea (signing up for a class with a toddler in tow is NOT advised )

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *