August 2, 2005

  • One of the things I don’t miss at all about going to school was having
    to wrestle book covers onto my books at the first of the year. 
    What a pain!  It wasn’t so bad once I learned how to fold the top
    and bottom in, then the ends, and slip the book cover into it, but who
    recalls having to get scissors and tape and carefully measuring and
    cutting and taping?

    Oy vey!

    Naturally, today’s kids are Simply Spoiled ROTTEN as what do they have? 

    Stretchable fabric book covers, that’s what.

    I missed the disposable diapers with the refastenable tapes, and now
    this.  It’s not fair, that’s all there is to it.  It’s just
    not fair.

Comments (7)

  • Poor Anne.

    You have been deprived. Not a single luxury in your sad life!

    Stretchable book covers would have made all the difference!

    me<><

  • Tell a dumb about to be public school mom about this — are purchased book covers now de rigueur? I hadn’t even thought about such a thing, and what I remember is those brown paper-bag material things that the school issued, with outline drawings of presidents or someone like that on them.

    Hmmmm….another thing to add to my list.

  • I have no idea, Jane. Temple didn’t bother with book covers, and if Charles did I didn’t know about it. They came to my attention in a Wal-Mart ad (fifty cents each…not bad).

  • Well, YOU’RE no help!

  • I remember well using grocery bags to cover my books. Only recently have the stretch bookcovers become quite the fashion here (a couple of years, so far as I know). They also double as head gear (I have a photo somewhere of my 15 year old wearing one as a hat last year).

    Trust me pentamom, buying those stretchy book covers is worth every penny.

  • Jane, wait until school starts.  If they want you to cover your books, you’ll know.  School supply & to-do lists are not something you assume.  As inconvenient as it might be (and it really isn’t), you wait!

  • PB, I know they issue the lists for elementary school, but I have my doubts about high school. Nonetheless, I will wait and see what is required (and/or less formally expected as just “the thing to do”.) I was really asking whether book covers were commonly done, these days, not so much whether they were formally required.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *