March 1, 2005

  • Oy vey!


    And likewise, aye carumba. 


    This week – all three days of it – is Nine Week Test week.  Today Dmitry had math and computer. 


    Bombed the computer test, and he fears he didn’t do well on the math test, which is a huge disappointment…he’d been doing pretty well on them recently. 


    Tomorrow is his history test, and the teacher sent home – alleluia! – a printed review sheet.  It was daunting, looking at this sheet filled with names and terms, so I broke them into semi-logical groups and printed three or four on each of eight postcards.  Figured it’d make ‘em more manageable.


    Yeah, well, it was a good theory as theories go.  Not sure how successful it was.  Dmitry studied them, then after dinner we sat on my bed and I’d ask him questions.  It wasn’t a noticeable success.  Then I had him study one at a time, ask ME the questions (I got a 100%, BTW), then I’d ask him. 


    This worked a bit better.


    During this time I got my book on George Mueller, as it turns out Dmitry has a book report due on March 14….he was supposed – the “evil hummer” as he puts it – to have turned in a couple of weeks ago the name of the book on a missionary that he’d read.  Him being him, today was the first I learned about it. 


    While he was rhapsodizing about the spring break getting ready to start, I pointed out he’ll need to do some work during it…the book report will be due when he goes back, plus there’s his research paper on Illinois coming up.


    Well.  This set him off.  He howled.  He yowled.  He fussed.  He threatened dire repercussions on the entire education industry.


    I irritably interrupted Mr. Drama King, pointing out we needed to continue studying.


    “Wait!” he exclaimed, “I’m not finished complaining!”


    He’s upfront about it….gotta give him that. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *