January 5, 2010

  • This was SO annoying!

    This afternoon my new computer came, an Acer touchscreen.  Very pleased, I was, for I've wanted a touchscreen for ages and it was at a killer price (sorry, the place is sold out now).

    Never seen a computer come with so little documentation.  No CD.  No instruction book.  Just a large sheet of paper showing the steps to set it up, and some instructions on the leaflet regarding the wireless mouse and keyboard.  Apparently it is so simple a chucklehead could set it up.  Basically it's a plug-and-play.

    Except I couldn't get the keyboard and mouse to work.  Tried and tried.  Put the USB thingummy for them in every USB port.  Nothing.  After pushing the power button to shut it down then turning it on again, the "home" screen showed up.  The touchscreen worked on it and when it suggested I watch a video about the features of it, I agreed.

    Mistake.  It got stuck into a loop, restarting automatically, and nothing I could do would stop it.  So the keyboard didn't work, the mouse didn't work, and the introductory program played continually. 

    No support phone number anywhere on the stuff included with the computer.  Couldn't find a phone number on the Acer site, which hardly has any info about the Z5160 since it's so new.

    Frustrated, I called the company from whom I bought it, getting a nice man eventually who sympathized but gave me the Acer phone number.  Called that and eventually spoke with a nice young lady who also sympathized and gave me the phone number for Acer tech support.

    Called that number and sat on hold for over 20 minutes, periodically being assured by a very nice voice that my phone call is extremely important to them, to please continue waiting, and be assured that my problem would receive the time and attention it deserved.

    Then the very nice voice came on to briskly advise me that Acer technical support is now closed for the night and hung up on me. 

    Rarely have I been almost speechless with rage, but I certainly was then. 

    Zhenya earnestly asked to be allowed to see what he could do, so I gave up my seat to him and stomped to the kitchen to work on dinner.  Within a few minutes he had both the keyboard and mouse working. 

    Fair's fair....he got the computer running properly when I couldn't, so he's been playing with it this evening.  Finding all sorts of cool things it'll do!

    Still think I may call back to Acer tech support tomorrow to speak to a supervisor and complain about being first urged to wait - multiple times, in fact - then deliberately hung up on because the tech people went home.  That stunk

Comments (7)

  • I think I'd also ask for a bit more documentation. I assume (and we know how dangerous THAT is) that there's a terrific help section on the HD - fat lot of help that was! Maybe you should just print that off when you can but even so, you shouldn't have to, great price or no.

    Congrats on the new machine though - let us know how it goes. :)

    me<><

  • You know what Zinnia (my name for this computer) wants me to do? Take three blank DVD's and burn the harddrive stuff onto it so in case it's ever needed, I can get it back to factory settings.

    Oh, and after having been on it for hours before this message box pops up, it also says this should be done before actually using the computer. :hmmmmm:

    Unlike most everyone else, apparently, I don't keep a stack of blank DVD's on hand. Have to go buy some tomorrow. :sigh:

  • I wish you luck. I bought an Acer laptop over a year ago and it is now going in for the fourth time for service. Things have already been replaced twice. Luckily I bought an extended warranty for two years so I should be able to keep it operational for that long anyway. After that I'll find something else rather than get it fixed again.

  • I was looking at reviews and comments for Acer laptops, and they were almost 100% bad. One lady shipped hers back to the company at a cost of 50.00 only to have it returned saying there was nothing wrong with hit. The shift key seems to be a typical problem, and I understand the LCD screen is brittle and can crack for no apparent reason. I'd be inclined to take it back NOW.

  • I like Acer, AAMOF. It's the laptop Don gave me 2.5 years ago and it's been fine. Okay, now the touchpad doesn't work, but it's never needed service. And the little netbook I bought is an Acer Aspire One, and it works fine.

    All brands produce lemons, sad to say. So far I've been very happy with Acer!

  • You're keeping the computer b/c you have 2 different models that work fine?   You have 2 friend saying it is probably a mistake.  Did you check the reviews on Amazon?   PLEASE reconsider.  Look at how bad their customer service is, and how bad their documentation is.  Plus they tell you to back up the hard drive in advance?   Sounds pretty bad....sorry.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment