August 31, 2009

  • Okay, I’ve been a trifle dilatory about getting some photos up from Saturday.

    First was The Poppets’ birthday bash at Leaping Lizards in North Richland Hills, which is one of the now-ubiquitous bounce house places.  Kids love ‘em, though!  It was a misery to locate, as the numbering of that section of 26 is appalling.  Eventually we (Mom and me) found it.

    Here’s one of the birthday girls, Bridgette; isn’t she cute? 

    Here’s Faith scampering across the floor, with Kirstin in the back left, Beth and her Aunt Sue taking photos of Hannah most likely, Charles talking to Bryson, Mom watching Bridgette, and that’s Benjamin and Jonathan largely obscured by the bounce thing:

    It’s difficult to say who has more fun at these places….Alex or the kids:

    Above is Jessica laughing about something, with Alex and Bryson.  Here’s Mom with Beth’s mother, Anna, and Faith being refreshed:

    Uncle Charles was here, there and everywhere, usually picking various munchkins up and throwing them around, to their squeals of pleasure:

    That’s him with Brianna.  And this is a nice photo of my two oldest children, Kirstin and Jonathan:

    Later that evening I went to Ridglea Country Club to attend the AHHS 40th reunion with my friend, Debbe.  Don had planned on going, so I decided to go in his stead to represent him, and my name tag had his senior photo (all the name tags did, of course) with “Anne Ivy for Don” on it, which I appreciated.  I also wore a photo locket with a picture of him in it. 

    Anyway, here is the Triple Threat, me with Yvonne and Debbe:

     

    I didn’t recognize Yvonne at all!  She paid at the door, so hadn’t had a name tag at first.  Looked straight at her and didn’t know it was her until she said something to me.  Gosh, it was wonderful to see her, and it turns out she lives up in Lewisville!  Not far, really. 

    Here’s one of Sharon, Yvonne, Barbara, and me:

    I remember Mom being our Blue Bird leader and maybe Camp Fire leader, too.  We had such a good time!  And here’s the five of us, taken by Barbara’s hubby, Dick:

    There was a group photo of all the ex-Jackets, and here’s a segment with Debbe and Yvonne in it:

    It really was fun seeing so many old friends, and I’m planning on attending Nolan’ 40th in October.  I’ve never gone to a reunion before.  Don went to his 30th, and had a good time.  He was onto something….reunions can be fun. 

    Tomorrow I’m hitting the road with Elaine and her girls, as we head up to Ohio.  Stay tuned for photos from the trip!  I’m hoping to be able to post frequently while we’re gone.  Actually, I separate from them in Cincinnati, with them driving on to Cleveland to stay with family, while I visit my friend Jennifer.  Then I take a bus to Indianapolis and stay with Eleanor.  On the first Thursday evening of our trip we’ll be having dinner at my friend, Jack’s, house with his wife and youngest children (his eldest is at college).

    Elaine and I will meet up again in Indianapolis, then drive on home.

    Prayers for travel mercies would be appreciated. 

Comments (3)

  • Great photos. :)

    The reunion does look like great fun. I’m glad you went.

    And I still selfishly wish you were going/coming more east-er, but I’m thrilled you’ll be spending time with J’fer & E & Jack. Photos and full reports will be most URGENTLY awaited!

    Safe travels!

    me<><

  • I’m taking both the laptop and the netbook (plus two cameras and my Flip video) so I’m hoping to be able to update regularly.

    Patience, dear! When I get up to PA I’m going to do it right and see EVERYBODY. :smug:

  • Wow!  The pictures of the birthday party are great!  I wish I could have been there.  The kids are so cute!

    It’s about time you went to a reunion!   :dancingcow:  What was Yvonne’s last name?  Where was Marsha?   I don’t remember Sharon.  Did you get a copy of a Memory-type book, where everyone sends in their pics and bios?  Maybe you can still get a copy, if they had one made.  Love your dress!  Barbara looks so young!  Email me…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *