August 18, 2009

  • Jeepers. It’s been awhile again, hasn’t it?

    Back in July we had a get-together for Alex’s homecoming, and here are a few pix from then:

    The cats are usually with me, Dracula still determined to suck on my ears (though he’ll accept Dmitry as a substitute if my ears are unavailable), and Magellan still exploring:

    This past Sunday was Dmitry’s 19th birthday, and that was the most discombobulated party I’ve ever given.  No real present, no beverages, no cake, no ice cream….just salads, which was what he asked to have. 

    Had six of the grandkids here for it:  Brianna, Benjamin, Hannah, Bryson, Bridgette, and Faith (that’s supposed to be in chronological order, though it’s possible I messed up).  Bethany had another party to attend so she wasn’t here, more’s the pity, and neither was li’l Kirsten.  Six out of eight is not a bad showing, however. 

    That’s Bridgette up above, and here’s Hannah giving Brianna a massage:

    Several of the children gathered on the front porch while waiting for Uncle Alex (or Daddy, as the case might be) to arrange a scavenger hunt for them:

    Everything’s more exciting in the dark and with flashlights. 

    This is simply a precious photo of my precious Benjamin Bunny:

    The day before the party, I drove Zhenya down to Lynn Smith Chevrolet, where my dearest bro-in-law, John, had found him the perfect car, a 2001 PT Cruiser with 45K miles:

    If you look carefully Zhenya’s pleased face is visible:

    Back to Sunday evening, I took Jessica’s girls home then met Kirstin at her church to hand over the boys;  we beat her there so they played on the playground:

    This afternoon Elaine and her girls combined entrepreneurship and generosity as they had a lemonade/iced tea stand set up so as to raise money for Operation Christ Child boxes:

    By golly, they were snagging some customers!  One pulled up right as I was leaving;  here’s Margaret carefully taking the lemonade to the car:

    I know posting has been lackluster of late, but I think that’s going to change before long. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *