August 13, 2009

  • Shamelessly snitched off Lois’s blog:

    A friend of hers is a scribbler of “doodles and rhyme” and here’s one called “Birthday Suit”.

    I still have on my “birthday suit,”
    But it’s beginning to show the wear,
    Having all the signs of aging,
    And places that easily tear.

    Now nothing irons out the wrinkles,
    And the seams seem to shrink and sag.
    My once and handsome tailored garb
    Fits like a shroud with a red tag.

    Blotches and spots en masse appear
    With no way they can be erased.
    The healthy hues of pinks and tans
    Have muted into paper paste.

    When comes the time to take it off
    (“For flesh and blood no kingdom gains”),
    I’ll be so sick and tired of it,
    I won’t care much for what remains.

    But pay no mind.  Have no concern.
    I have a new one laid away.
    It’s up-to-date of highest style
    and cannot ever fade or fray.

    Not of water, but of the Blood
    This vestment of my second birth
    Is of fair cloth not sewn with hands,
    And will for aye retain its worth!

Comments (1)

  • BTW, his name is Paul Gordon, former pastor and dear friend to both of us and our families.

    :)

    me<><

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *