June 15, 2009

  • I am turning into quite the dilatory blogger, am I not?

    Not a whole lot going on of note, which isn't necessarily a bad thing.  Quiet times do make for stagnant blogs, though.

    However, there's been a few things going on.  On Sunday was the first meeting of the Joy Fellowship, aka: the widows' group at Christ Chapel.  Barbara and Jo Helen did a super job arranging it.  There was a wonderful chicken salad (there was also a shrimp salad but I didn't eat that....blech), fruit salad, and Barbara's absolutely decadent brownies. 

    One would think people would make sure there aren't conflicts, wouldn't one?  The next event is on July 8th:  a bus trip to a restaurant in Roanoke and a visit to Sam Moon's (or something like that).  Trouble is, that's the day of July's Women in the World salad luncheon, so one can either participate in one or the other.  Argh!

    Today Jessica took me - along with Kirsten, Brianna, and Bridgette - to the Chili's on University for lunch to celebrate my upcoming birthday, as this is the only day she's free this week.  I threw dietary caution to the wind and had a Mushroom Swiss Burger.  Um, um!  Love those! 

    Here's Kirsten and Brianna:

    And here's Bridgette, who was a squirmy wormy of a high order.  It's easy to tell she's almost two years old! 

    Kenny has been hard at work (and in this heat!) on the front porch; he's hoping to have it completed by this weekend:

    The bushes in front caused him a bit of trouble, as he needs to be able to get to the front of the porch, so we went to Lowe's (my current home-away-from-home) to pick up some lumber and he devised a platform to run across the top of them.  I thought that was right clever.  My Donald couldn't have done better.