April 9, 2009

  • What a couple of days!

    Yesterday Anna, Beth's mother, was kind enough to drive over from her home in Dallas so we could visit, go to the Kimbell museum and have lunch there.  You know what's odd?  The guards couldn't care less if one uses one's camera phone to snap photos of the permanent collection stuff, but are Johnny-on-the-spot to put the kibosh on it if one tries to do so with the special exhibition items.  Why's it alright in one section of the museum but not in another?

    We had a lovely time.

    Later in the afternoon, though, I had what the grief counselor referred to as a "grief burst".  It was a fairly major one, lasting almost 45 minutes.  I was back in my bedroom with the door closed but feared the boys could still hear me.  They left while I was back there, and while they were gone I finally decided to pull myself together and go work on my Bible study for this morning's Women in the Word session.

    So I'm there in the living room, sitting on the sofa, working away, when Dmitry and Joe came in.  Turned out they'd gone to SuperTarget, where they bought me an early Mother's Day present....a Nintendo DSi!  For the uninitiated, it's the newest version of that handheld game system, which includes a camera with editing features, sound recording ability, and wireless internet connectivity.  It just came out on April 5th and I'd been casting sheep's eyes at it.

    I'd been like this:

    ....but Dmitry and Joe's gift ("And we got the extended warranty on it!" Dmitry assured me) turned me into:

    I've had fun playing with it.  ;^)

    Today has been a full day, starting with the Bible study (the lesson given by Kathy Harrelson was superb; many of us were anxious to get the CD of it to share and keep to listen to again), then lunch with my friend, Kathy, whose birthday's tomorrow (El Fenix...yum!), followed by a grief counseling session, then a voice lesson, from there to SuperTarget, finishing up with a 2 1/2 hour rehearsal for tomorrow evening's Tenebrae service.

    Which is going to be marvelous!  Jennifer (the one who was proposed to a choir rehearsal a week ago) took this photo of the orchestra and choir loft with the scrim in place:

    By the time the service is over, all those candles are snuffed out and the sanctuary is in darkness.

    I'm really looking forward to it, though I need to work on a couple of the pieces.

Comments (5)

  • I bless the day Dmitri came to you. What a sweetheart. May God continue to give you comfort, and make one foot step in front of the other.

  • Also remember, dear heart, that grieving is absolutely healthy. Always, when the tears must flow, let them. Wallow, even. It will pass. I'm not advising that you go seeking these "oh, my Donald" times, but when they come, let them come and let the tears come. ((HUG)) It is the quickest way to heal from pain: crying.

  • :big-smile: What a wonderful Good Friday service and I think I found you, on the back row to the right? Not far to the right, the 2nd one from the middle. The singing was so magnificient, what a gift. Thanks, Mom

  • As I explained on the phone, though, that wasn't me. You were looking at the soprano section, while I sing alto. I sat on the middle row, a bit left of center. Tall bass singer to my left, and another alto to my right.

    Love sitting next to that bass! Marvelous voice!

    I'm glad you - and Charles! - came tonight. It was a wonderful service, wasn't it? I'm looking forward to next year! :big-smile:

  • I missed this one before - I'm so sorry you're having to suffer so much - but many kudos to Dmitry and Joe for sneaking out to buy you that game!  Thank them for me!  What thoughtful boys...

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment