March 22, 2009

  • Emotional land mines abound for the bereaved.

    Earlier this afternoon I looked at one of the inserts in the worship folder, which is an order form for lilies for the Easter services.

    "I need to order one for Don," I thought.

    Then was immediately overcome by the thought of our going to Easter service together last year, and how when I'd idly cast an eye over the honorees for the lilies, there wasn't the slightest suspicion that the very next Easter my Don's name would be in the "In Memoriam" list.

Comments (2)

  • It never fails to amaze me those who are being buried who never imagined it would happen a week ago. Jonathan Edwards- "Resolved, to live each hour as though it were my last upon earth."

  • Tonight when I was tidying up the living room, I put several CDs back into the basket where I keep them and noticed a couple of Christmas cards in there.  I keep all of them in a deep drawer in my desk because the little kids like getting them out and looking at them, and, well, you know it is when there are little kids in the house -- things get "put away" where they don't belong.

    So I opened up the cards to see who they were from, and one was signed, "We miss having y'all in Texas!  Anne, Don and Dmitry." 

    Just wanted to let you know that there are still tangible reminders of Don all around, and those of us who were touched by his life, however briefly, haven't forgotten him.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment