February 11, 2009

  • What a great evening!

    Mind, it started off a bit shakily as I was close to canceling due to the severe storms scheduled to move in and I was concerned about leaving Dmitry home alone during them, but decided to at least go to Barbara's house for dinner and then monitor the weather.

    The next "shaky" bit was when Dmitry came out to the living room at 5:32pm, all washed and dressed, right when I was thinking I'd best be getting ready to go. I inquired as to his presentability, and it turned out he was expecting me to take him to Carolyn's prior to going to Barbara's. Okay, yes, I had suggested that as a possibility the night before but he didn't know if her mother had to work last night or anything, and nothing was ever said.

    I took silence to mean it wasn't going to happen. Turned out I ought to have taken silence as confirmation, for he assumed it was "on." Ran frantically back to change clothes then we raced to the car, me grumbling at Dmitry. He apologized, but it was still a silent ride. I wasn't more than eight minutes late, and in fact arrived before the other two ladies! (Dmitry chortled complacently when I told him that later.) We had a lovely supper then departed for the Bass Hall, with me taking my van so I could leave early if necessary.

    Lightning was visible to the west as we entered the hall. The occasion was a Sacred Music Gala put on by the Fort Worth Symphony and the Southwestern Baptist Seminary's 200-voice Master Chorale, and there were many people from Christ Chapel present. It was wonderful, although the opening number was, um, interesting. Everything else was terrific, and the tenor was born in Wales and had a voice to rival any tenor's, anywhere.

    Periodically I'd check the radar using my cell phone and could see the storms moving over us. At intermission I felt it vibrate and it was a text message from Dmitry: "r u safe?" I responded "Yes. Was it a bad storm" and received a terse "yea" in reply.

    The finale was the audience standing and singing a rousing rendition of the Hallelujah Chorus along with the Chorale, which was - of course - beyond words. Then we streamed out of the hall to find soaking wet streets and a brisk, chilly wind. The storms had completely passed thru during the concert, so I missed the whole thing. Perfect! No trouble going to fetch Dmitry, either.

    What a blessing of an evening. A real treat from the LORD.

Comments (2)

  • What a fine evening and I'm glad it all worked out! Thanks for the link to the Welsh tenor! Fabulous!

    I love tenor and baritone!

  • Seems that Dmitry has turned into a Man.  Lack of communication is what gives it away.  Or maybe he just forgot.  John will say something to "me", and he assumes I heard him even when I don't reply or acknowledge the statement.  Likewise when I say something to him, he doesn't reply, so I repeat it, and then I get "I heard you the first time".  Very frustrating - lack of communication from Man to Woman.  I figure he has alot on his mind and forget it, but sometimes I have to vent my frustration.  Grrr - so easy to prevent misunderstandings if he wasn't a Man.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment