February 3, 2009

  • The internet connection's been problematic over the past several months, frequently disappearing for a time then reappearing, or being slow as chilled honey.

    Used to drive Don batty, as he'd be having a conference call via the internet then get dropped because the internet signal would go off.

    I would suggest maybe it's the modem?

    No, no...it's Charter, not the modem. To be fair, a tech traced back and found somewhere where the signal was flickering off periodically. He wasn't approved to work on the actual Charter line, though, so he had to turn in a work ticket for it. That was, I dunno, last September, I think.

    If memory served it worked pretty well for a bit, then began to really act up after Don died (naturally!).

    Would call Jonathan Andrew, again suggesting it might be the modem. No, no....it's Charter, not the modem.

    Last night the internet was so slow I gave up on it, then it was working fine this morning, then quit and was out for hours. A phone session resulted in a tech being scheduled to come out this afternoon. Which he did.

    He replaced the modem.

    Now I get to pay for his visit plus the new modem.

Comments (4)

  • Hi Anne,

    We had to replace our modem with Charter twice (if my memory serves me) and as we switched to AT&T in August the modem is now sitting in a dark drawer all alone. Bill said it is a good one and if you want it you are more than welcomed to it.

    Let me know,

    Linda

  • Thanks ever so, but so far this one's working well. I'll keep that in mind, however. :flirty:

    Did y'all go with AT&T U-Verse? How are you liking it? Don and I had been considering switching to it ourselves.

  • My mom (if memory serves) was very displeased with Charter, she then went with Dish network (after we'd told her and my sister had told her that we'd had issues with Dish) and I'm not sure but I think she's with AT&T and seems happy with them.

  • We started with the Dish and were very dissatisfied . . . then to Charter for four years . . . unhappy with the lack of customer service after numerous service calls that did not correct the problem, ever. We switched to AT&T U-Verse in the Fall and love it. The channel line up is great and Free On Demand has exceptional programs. We are very pleased.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment