November 20, 2008

  • Sorry for the extended silence!

    Don's back from Corpus Christi, where he was participating as a vendor at a trade show. Just what he needed, what with having pneumonia, eh? He survived it, but is still short of breath and easily tired, poor lamb.

    Who has read the book by Jean Kerr titled "Please Don't Eat the Daisies"? That comes from her reminiscence about giving detailed instructions to her young sons as she was going upstairs to get ready for a dinner party. She did the best she could to cover all possibilities.

    When she came downstairs it was to discover her lovely centerpiece of daisies was now denuded of blooms. Unfortunately she had neglected to say "Do not eat the daisies." As she wryly pointed out, now she says it.

    Well, it didn't occur to me to ask during the brief interview at Penney whether there was any chance I'd be hauled in to work in the middle of the night.

    Turns out, that was a mistake, as the morning after Thanksgiving the store opens at 4 a.m., so I'm scheduled to clock in at 3:45 a.m. =8^o

    The only slight positive I can come up with is that traffic will be surely nonexistent when I'm going, and won't yet have reached gridlock status when I get off at 11:45 a.m.

    Look on the bright side, that's me. ;^p

Comments (3)

  • Who is really going to shop at 4 am. I mea, seriously...if they wait and open at a decent hour, people will still shop. That's just insane. Hours get earlier and earlier every year. Next year, shopping will start at Midnight. INSANE!!! The stores are open every day before Thanksgiving and every day after. I prefer to sleep and avoid shopping on "black friday" (or any time after THanksgiving).

  • I'm sure there'll be somebody. :hmmmmm:

    Personally, I think they're nuts, and that's Christmas shopping run amok. :o h-no:

  • oh, no! I agree, this is stupidity and insanity. I am frustrated with the frenzy surrounding this season. I pray it will all be well for you that day, dear. (oh...I discovered something about puffy ankles for myself: supportive shoes make all the difference in the world. If I wear slip ons for a day, without my insoles supporting my feet, at the end of the day I have Granny Ankles. Find some nice, sensible, supportive shoes for your work day. Maybe it'll make a difference for you,too.)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment