October 16, 2008

  • You know what I'm a sucker for?

    Those "As Seen on T.V.!" gizmos.

    I love gizmos.  There.  I said it.   e-nogood

    Have bought enough of 'em over the years to realize they don't usually live up to their hype, but that never seems to lessen the allure...the promise held out that this gizmo will scratch a particular itch particularly well.  Even itches I didn't know existed.  Especially itches I didn't know existed.

    Today I was at Linens-N-Things (which is liquidating, only nothing was on sale and one couldn't use coupons and there are no refunds or exchanges...what's up with that?  heck of a way to run a going-out-of-business sale) and was mesmerized by the plethora of ASOTV goodies.  PedEggs!  Steam Buddies!  One Touch Can Openers!  Flat Fold Colanders!    e-batting

    Every now and again one runs across something that actually does work precisely as promised, such as the Shelf Master Instant Shelves.  They hold up to 10 pounds and require no glue or nails or anything.  I bought a set several years ago and use them to hold speakers, and they work a treat. 

    I regret to report, however, that those Debbie Meyer Green Bags (presumably they keep produce just-picked-fresh for an almost frighteningly long time) don't work noticeably well, which was disappointing.  Now the line has expanded to cold cuts bags and bread bags and cheese bags, I see.  Hmmm....I wonder...?  Maybe it's just the green bags that don't quite work properly?  Perhaps the cold cut bags will indeed keep lunch meat fresh and tasty for up to two weeks. 

    Hope does spring eternal, does it not?  e-aw

    After dithering between one item and another  -  it was so hard to choose!  -  I finally settled on the Go Duster, an electric, spinning dusting thing that promises to make dusting "fast, easy, and fun!" and goodness knows I'm all about fast, easy, and fun.

    We'll see.  e-ghost

Comments (5)

  • Is Linens-n-Things liquidating nationally, or only locally for you?

  • I don't know. Since they've stopped taking coupons, it rather sounds to be an across-the-board liquidation.

  • Linens N Things is going away. Declared bankruptcy in May. Now liquidating everything. Even their website has on every page "All Sales Final"

    See here, for example

  • I'm no help.  I bought the green bags (at our local Bed, Bath & Beyond) but keep forgetting to use them.  Not even sure where I put them. 

    I was sorely tempted to fall for the pitch about the paint roller that held a quart of paint and you could about paint the Grand Canyon without refilling, but decided I probably couldn't comfortably use a paint roller that heavy.

  • LOIS, the paint stick is the greatest thing since sliced bread.  We have had one for years, and have used it many times.  It's the only way to paint bedroom walls and big stuff.  Period.  End of discussion.  (Black & Decker makes something similar, and you buy it at the Home Depot.)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment