September 14, 2008

  • It was nice while it lasted.



    Dad, Don and Alex, originally uploaded by Anne_G_Ivy.

    Alex_grandparents_Sept142008

    But eventually Sunday morning arrived, and Alex departed for Japan.

    Dad had been kind enough to allow Alex to borrow his car, so this morning it was returned, allowing Alex to say goodbye to Mom and Dad. I forgot my camera (had been downloading photos last night), but still had my cell phone's camera. The top photo is good of Dad, while he was a bit blurry in the bottom on.  Oops.

    At the airport Charles was there (he was also seeing his friend, Joseph, off, who was returning to Groton and the Navy base) to bid his brother goodbye:

    Charles_Alex_DFW_Sept142008

    Alex's father-in-law made the trek from Mesquite, and the four of us sat in the lobby of the Grand Hyatt there at the airport until it was time for Alex to go through security and head for his gate:

    Alex_airport_Sept142008

    I know I mentioned it a year or two ago, but this statue still strikes me as wholly inappropriate for an airport terminal:

    wishbone

    A "good luck" symbol?  Is this a suitable message for those taking to the skies?

Comments (4)

  • Is it possible to take a poor photo of Alex? The man is extremely photogenic. It helps that he's so good-looking, but my! :)

    I'm glad you had such a good visit, but it must be a horrible wrench to see him leaving yet again. But next year - it is next year, right? - he'll be back stateside for good, right? AND with his lovely ladies!

    Hugs!

    me<><

  • Right! They should be back in June. :celebrate:

  • We LOVED having Alex stay with us! My girls enjoyed every moment of his being around (and we adults did too, but he didn't throw us up in the air, thank goodness). I can't wait until they come home!!

  • Thank you and Hal so much for hosting him while he was here. He really liked the guest house, and apparently you were right about the comfort of the bed, for he overslept a bit this morning. ;^)

    It will be fun when they arrive home, won't it? We'll have to get a big group to meet them at the airport!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment