July 15, 2008

  • One of the most fabulous things about the internet is YouTube.

    I love YouTube, as it’s possible to find darn near anything one has ever watched on it.  For instance, how long has it been since you’ve watched Torvill and Dean’s magnificent Original Set Program from 1984?  The one they danced in both the Olympics and the Worlds?

    Well, that’s too long.

    In this clip – taken from the World Figure Skating Competition – it’s funny how the commentator pronounces “cape” as “keep.”  Never heard that before.  What I cherish about this particular clip is that once the music starts, the commentators shut UP.  That’s an excellent quality in a commentator, to my mind.  The couple’s dance from the Olympics – broadcast on ABC – is also available, but mercy Maud, Peggy Fleming and Dick Button babble all the way through it. 

    BTW, does anyone recognize the music?  I love it and would like to find and download it, only the piece is never identified.

Comments (8)

  • I was like, 5, in 1984 so this is the first time I’ve seen this, but I googled for you & according to the wikipedia - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torvill_and_Dean – the music is Maurice Ravel’s Boléro.

  • No, the Bolero was the piece they danced to for their Free Dance.

    If you’ve not seen it, scurry over to YouTube and watch it. Fabulous!

  • Capriccio Espagnol by Rimsky-Korsakov. A personal fave of mine.

    No wonder you like it — it’s RUSSIAN! :dancingcow:

    And wow, after all these years, Torvill and Dean still stack up next to the best in the sport.

  • I am really confused. I think it’s Capriccio Espagnol, but since it’s a longer piece I keep getting confused as I listen to Capriccio Espagnol, as to whether it’s the same piece.

    I guess you can give it a listen and see if I’m right, keeping in mind that it’s a much longer piece so it doesn’t start out the same way.

  • Oh yes, that’s it! Remember, the skaters only need a short segment, which is then repeated three times.

    Thanks ever so, Jane! :love:

  • Yes, I knew that would only be a portion of it, but somehow as I’d listen through it, and go back and watch the T&D thing, I couldn’t get my mind around whether I was hearing exactly the same melodies, or just something close. Glad I was right!

  • And it just goes to demonstrate anew how neat is the internet, as it permits me to watch a favorite ice dancing bit from 20+ years ago, ask about the music, receive a prompt reply from a friend in another state, then locate and download it from Rhapsody.

    All from the comfort of my recliner.

    Wicked cool. :smug:

  • I spent one hour today watching utube videos of Torvill and Dean. I wonder who did the costumes.They are classy!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *